New Delhi: The counting of votes for Bhagalpur Assembly Constituency of Bihar took place on Tuesday. Notably, the Bhagalpur seat went to polls in the second phase of Bihar assembly elections i.e. on November 3.Also Read - Qaidi No. 241383: From Waking Up At 5:30 AM To Working For 8 Hrs, How Life In Patiala Jail Looks For Navjot Sidhu

The seat has been swept by the Congress’s Ajit Sharma who secured 41.47 per cent votes. Also Read - Impending Electoral Rout in Gujarat And Himachal: Prashant Kishor's Prediction For Congress

In 2015 Vidhan Sabha elections, Bhagalpur seat was won by Congress’s Ajeet Sharma by a margin of 6.99% votes. BJP’s Arjit Shashwat Choubey emerged as the runner up by securing 39.25% votes. In 2020 assembly elections, Congress’s Ajit Sharma fought against BJP’s Rohit Pandey. From LJP, Nilam Devi was in the fray. Himanshu Prasad Alias Himanshu Kumar fought from the seat for RLSP. Also Read - Kerala: LDF Wins 24 Of 42 Seats In Local Body By-Polls, UDF Bags 12

Bhagalpur Constituency Election Result Updates:

1) Congress is leading from the Bhagalpur assembly seat.

2) BJP’s Rohit Pandey is now leading with 43.45% votes.

3) Congress’s Ajit Sharma has emerged as the winner from the seat.

The election has been a tough one for the ruling NDA as their Chief Minister candidate Nitish Kumar is fighting anti-incumbency. All eyes are now glued on Bihar elections results and it remains to be seen if Nitish Kumar can retain the power or lose the throne to Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance), helmed by RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav.

The exit polls– conducted on November 7– have given a clear edge to Mahagathbandhan. They are predicted to get 128-180 seats, crossing the magic mark of 122. The ruling NDA is predicted to bag 69-99 seats. Chirag Paswan’s party LJP, which broke away from the NDA coalition in Bihar and decided to go solo, is projected to get 2-8 assembly seats.