New Delhi:  The political temperature in Bihar is set to soar substantially as Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former Congress president Rahul Gandhi will hit the campaign trail for the forthcoming state Assembly elections. While PM Modi will address three rallies – at Dehri-on Sone (Rohtas district), Gaya, and Bhagalpur — for the ruling NDA coalition, Rahul will be seeking votes for Mahagathbandhan’s candidates in Nawada’s Hisua, and Kahalgaon in Bhagalpur.Also Read - Zee News Opinion Poll For Punjab: Charanjit Singh Channi Emerges As Most Preferred CM Candidate

If reports are to be believed, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar will join Modi at the rallies in Dehri and Bhagalpur. In Gaya, JD(U) leader in the Lok Sabha Rajiv Ranjan Singh Lallan will share the dais with Modi along with the former chief minister and president of Hindustani Awam Morcha Jitan Ram Manjhi. Also Read - Majha (Punjab): Congress and SAD Likely to Get 10 Seats Each As Per Zee Opinion Poll, Channi Popular CM Choice

On the other hand, Tejashwi Yadav, the chief ministerial face of the Mahagathbandhan, will join the former Congress president at Hisua. Shaktisinh Gohil, the grand old party’s Bihar in-charge will be seen sharing the dais with Gandhi at Kahalgaon. Also Read - Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2022: Check BJP's Full List of Candidates

As per the reports, Special Protection Group (SPG) has taken charge of the Gandhi Maidan, the venue of Modi’s rally. Chairs have been arranged for nearly 15,000 people at an adequate distance from each other. Nobody will be allowed inside the rally ground without masks.
While the PM and a handful of NDA leaders will be on the dais, a separate platform has been set up near it for the candidates, reports claimed.

Besides, adequate preventive measures have also been taken at the Interschool ground in Hisua, where Rahul is expected to address his rally.

The three-phase elections in Bihar will be held from October 28 to November 7. The results will be declared on November 10.  The term of the Assembly in Bihar is due to expire on November 29. Bihar Assembly has a strength of 243 members, of whom 38 seats are reserved for SCs and two for STs

Live Updates

  • 5:59 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Labourers of Bihar left for their native state & walked thousands of kilometres without food & water. Did PM help you? Did he say that he didn’t think & ended up making a mistake? Did he offer buses, trucks, trains to go back home? No: Rahul Gandhi, in Bhagalpur

  • 5:58 PM IST
    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: PM said we’ll defeat Corona in 22 days. How? By clanging utensils and shining the light of mobile phones. You too thought if he asking let’s do it. It has been 6-7 months, Corona is spreading. PM is not speaking a word: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, in Bhagalpur
  • 5:57 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: PM Narendra Modi had said that India will be free of Corona within 22 days. I had been saying since February that the poor, labourers & farmers of India will suffer massive losses due to Corona but I was ridiculed: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, in Bhagalpur

  • 5:57 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Labourers of Bihar were working in different parts of the country for our development – be it Mumbai, Delhi or Punjab. Just like our jawans are standing in Ladakh, the labourers of Bihar were giving their blood & sweat to this nation: Rahul Gandhi, in Bhagalpur

  • 3:24 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: They do not have the answer till date, when they were in government then why did not they decide on MSP? Why so little grain was purchased from farmers in these times? Why these people did not care about farmers, farmers of Bihar, says PM Modi.

  • 3:23 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: “Each & every citizen of Bihar must cast his/her vote in the upcoming Bihar Elections , following all COVID-19 guidelines & social distancing norms. Also, I will like to appeal to all to ‘Go Local’ while you shop for the festivals this year, promote local artisans, PM says in Bhagalpur.

  • 1:56 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Modi has govt has made 3 new Farm laws to attack farmers. They 1st ended Mandis & MSP in Bihar,now they’re doing it in entire nation. PM is going to make lakhs jobless. Wherever PM Modi goes, he only lies, said Congress Leader Rahul Gandhi referring to Center’s Farm Laws.

  • 1:38 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020 LIVE: Don’t lie to Biharis, Modi Ji. Did you give jobs to Biharis? Last elections, PM promised 2 crores jobs, no one got them. In public,he says I bow my head to Army, farmers, labourers & traders. But once he reaches home, he only works for Ambani & Adani, Rahul attacked PM

  • 1:32 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020 LIVE: PM Narendra Modi insulted soldiers when he said nobody intruded into Indian territory in Ladakh, said Rahul Gandhi

  • 1:28 PM IST

    Bihar Assembly Election 2020 LIVE: “PM said he bows to jawans who lost their lives in the line of duty. But the question is what did the PM do when soldiers were martyred”, said Congress leader Rahul Gandhi in Bihar