Hajipur Constituency Result Live Updates: Counting of votes for Hajipur Assembly Constituency which went to polls on November 3 has been declared and BJP has emerged as the winner. Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Slams Modi Government Over Coronavirus Vaccine, Asks 'What Does PM Stand By'

In 2015, BJP candidate Awdhesh Singh won the seat against Congress’ Jagannath Prasad Rai by a margin of 6.8 per cent securing 86,773 votes. Hajipur was one of the 53 seats in Bihar held by Congress previously. Also Read - Swara Bhasker Takes on BJP MP Rakesh Sinha on Twitter, Reminds Him of Farm Protest

Winning the seat again this time was seen like a challenge for the BJP-JDU alliance, with a majority of the population unhappy with CM Nitish Kumar’s so-called failures. However, Union Minister of State Home Affairs Nityanand Rai, who held the seat till his election to Lok Sabha in 2014, had expressed high hopes that his party will win again. Also Read - Delhi Chalo: Rahul Gandhi Slams Modi Government Over Farmers Protest, Fires 'Suit-Boot' Jibe

Polling in all three phases ended on November 7 and the counting of votes in the 243-seat Bihar Assembly Election 2020 was conducted today.

As it happened

5PM: BJP wins Hajipur assembly constituency by margin of over 5,200 votes

4PM: BJP Candidate Awdhesh Singh has defeated RJD candidate Dev Kumar Chaurasiya by 5,231 votes in Hajipur

3PM: Awdhesh Singh of BJP leading from the seat

2 PM: RJD trailing and BJP still leading

10 AM: BJP’s Awdhesh Singh is currently leading as per early trends

8.00 am: Counting of votes begin