Munger Constituency Election Result LIVE: The 243-seat Bihar Assembly went to polls in three phases starting October 28. In the first phase, voting was held for 71 seats on October 28; the second phase for 94 seats on November 3; the third for 78 seats on November 7 and the results will be announced today. Over 7,29,27,396 electors were eligible to vote in Bihar polls and the voter turnout was at 57.05 per cent, which was 0.39 per cent higher compared to 56.66 per cent in 2015 elections. The major political parties in Bihar are Janata Dal (United), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). RJD ally Congress. Among other players are Samajwadi Party, National Congress Party (NCP). The incumbent National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government in the state is led by JD(U) leader chief minister Nitish Kumar. Also Read - Rajya Sabha Seat Left Vacant After Ram Vilas Paswan's Death May Not go to LJP Again - This is Why

In the previous election, the alliance was led by the BJP alongside three smaller allies namely the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLDP) and the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM). The JD(U) contested 2015 Assembly elections as part of the current opposition Mahagathbandan. Also Read - ED Raids Premises Linked to Shiv Sena MLA Pratap Sarnaik in Money-Laundering Case

Munger Constituency Election Result LIVE UPDATES:  Also Read - Sanjay Raut Takes A Dig At BJP With 'Death Anniversary' Jibe, Says Maha Aghadi Govt Will Complete Its Entire Term

7.30 pm: Home Minister Amit Shah dials Bihar CM Nitish Kumar as NDA keeps lead in Bihar.

6.51 pm: With vote margin of 3710 votes, BJP’s Pranav Kumar leading against RJD’s Avinash Kumar.

5.31 pm: BJP’s Pranav Kumar now leading with 2460 votes.

3.10 pm: BJP’s Pranav Kumar leading with 7003 votes

01.27 pm: BJP’s Pranav Kumar leading with 2477 votes, RJD’s Avinash Kumar Trails

12.06 pm: BJP’s Pranav Kumar leading with 1204 votes, RJD’s Avinash Kumar Trails

11.45 am: BJP’s Pranav Kumar Surges Ahead, RJD’s Avinash Kumar Trails

8.51 am: RJD leading in Munger, shows early trends.

8.00 am: Counting begins.

7.50 am: Counting of votes to start shortly. All the latest updates on Munger constituency will be available here.

7.32 am: The exit polls differed in their prediction of tallies of major players in Bihar assembly polls with most predicting an edge for Mahagathbandhan or its victory.

7.24 am: Prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC) have been imposed in and around the counting centres to prevent the gathering of people.

7.00 am: In the last assembly elections, the Munger seat was won by Vijay Kumar of the RJD.

6.51 am: Bihar is the first state where the full-fledged election was held after the coronavirus outbreak in India.

6.49 am: Bihar voted in three phases on October 28, November 3 and November 7 to decide the fate of 3,755 candidates.

6.40 am: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has set up 55 counting centres in all the 38 districts of the state.

6.24 am: Counting of votes to start at 8 am. Check all the latest updates here.

Munger Constituency:

Munger Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 40 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Bihar. This General Assembly constituency has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 9.68%. The estimated literacy level of the district in which this constituency falls in is 70.46%. In the 2020 elections, there were a total of 3,33,615 eligible electors, of which 1,78,948 were male, 1,52,557 female and 28 voters of the third gender.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, JDU got the most votes in 165. Munger Assembly segment of Munger Lok Sabha constituency. JDU’s Rajiv Ranjan Singh Alias Lalan Singh won the Munger Parliament seat.