Mumbai, September 12: After months of speculations, Apple is expected to unveil three new iPhone models at a mega event in California tonight. The most awaited iPhone X, iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus are likely to be launched tonight by Apple Chief Executive Officer Tim Cook from the Steve Jobs Theatre at Apple Park in Cupertino. This is the first event to be held at the Steve Jobs Theater.

Today’s Apple launch will feature the company’s flagship smartphone, the new iPhone X. The event is likely to witness final builds and new features of iOS 11, MacOS High Sierra, and Apple watchOS 4. If everything goes as planned, today’s mega event is supposed to take place at 10.00 AM Pacific Time (PDT), which is 10.30 PM in India. Reports say with the launch of iPhone X, Apple will mark the 10th anniversary of the iPhone. The original iPhone was launched in 2007. According to a recent report, the iPhone X price will be higher than we have ever seen before. As of now, there are no details about the launch of iPhone X in India. After it is unveiled at tonight’s mega event in the US, the iPhone X is likely to go on sale from around September 20.

Take a look at all the iPhones from 2007 to 2017:

iPhone (1st generation) released in 2007

The first generation iPhone was released on June 29, 2007. There have been multiple new hardware iterations with new iOS releases since then. The development of the iPhone began in 2004, when Apple started to gather a team of 1,000 employees to work on the highly confidential “Project Purple”. Apple CEO Steve Jobs steered the original focus away from a tablet and towards a phone.

iPhone 3G in 2008

The iPhone 3G is the second generation of iPhone, successor to the original iPhone. It was introduced on June 9, 2008, at the WWDC 2008 at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, United States. The iPhone 3G is internally similar to its predecessor, but included several new hardware features, such as GPS, 3G data and tri-band UMTS/HSDPA.

iPhone 3GS in 2009

The iPhone 3GS is the third generation iPhone, successor to the iPhone 3G. It was introduced on June 8, 2009, at the WWDC 2009 which took place at the Moscone Center, San Francisco. The “S” in 3GS stood for Speed (Phil Schiller had mentioned it in the launch keynote). The updated features include performance, a 3-megapixel camera with higher resolution and video ability, voice control. The iPhone 3GS was released in the USA, Canada, and six European countries on June 19, 2009, in Australia and Japan on June 26, and internationally in July and August 2009.

iPhone 4 in 2010

The iPhone 4 was the 4th generation of iPhone, succeeding the 3GS and preceding the 4S. It was first unveiled on June 7, 2010, at Apple’s Worldwide Developers Conference in San Francisco. It was released on June 24, 2010, in the United States, United Kingdom, France, Germany and Japan.

iPhone 4S in 2011

The iPhone 4S is the fifth generation of the iPhone succeeding the iPhone 4 and preceding the iPhone 5. It was announced on October 4, 2011 at Apple’s Cupertino campus. The media coverage was accompanied by news of the death of former Apple CEO and co-founder Steve Jobs on the following day. This iPhone was named “4S” where “S” stood for Siri- an iPhone 4S-exclusive intelligent personal assistant that was later included in future generations of mobile Apple products.

iPhone 5 in 2012

The iPhone 5 was the sixth generation of the iPhone, succeeding the iPhone 4S and preceding the iPhone 5S and iPhone 5C. The iPhone 5 featured major design changes in comparison to its predecessor. The phone was formally unveiled as part of a press event on September 12, 2012, it was released on September 21, 2012. It was the first iPhone to be completely developed under the guidance of Tim Cook and the last iPhone to be overseen by Steve Jobs.

iPhone 5C in 2013

The iPhone 5c was part of the iPhone series and was unveiled on September 10, 2013 and released on September 20, 2013 along with its higher-end counterpart, the iPhone 5S. Apple announced the iPhone 5C, along with the iPhone 5S during a media event at its Cupertino headquarters on September 10, 2013. iPhone 5S became the new flagship of the iPhone range, while the iPhone 5C was designed as a mid-range model, and the iPhone 4S continued production becoming the entry-level model of the series.

iPhone 6S and  iPhone 6S Plus in 2015

The iPhone 6S and 6S Plus were succeeded by the iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus in September 2016. The iPhone 6s and iPhone 6s Plus were announced on September 9, 2015, at the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium in San Francisco by Apple CEO Tim Cook. The pre-orders began on September 12 2015 and official release on September 25, 2015.

The difference between iPhone 6 and iPhone 6S is that the latter ha an updated hardware, including a strengthened chassis and upgraded system-on-chip, a 12-megapixel camera, improved fingerprint recognition sensor, and LTE Advanced support. Reports say that the iPhone 6S also introduces a new hardware feature known as “3D Touch”, which enables pressure-sensitive touch inputs.

iPhone SE in 2016

The iPhone SE was unveiled on March 21, 2016, at Apple’s Cupertino headquarters, and was released on March 31, 2016. The iPhone SE serves as a successor of the iPhone 5S. It maintains the 4-inch screen size and but includes selected hardware upgrades from the larger iPhone 6S model. The model was re-released with new storage options on March 24, 2017.

iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus

iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus are were announced on September 7, 2016, at the Bill Graham Civic Auditorium in San Francisco by Apple CEO Tim Cook. Both the phones were released on September 16, 2016, succeeding the iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus as the current flagship devices in the iPhone series. The iPhone 7’s overall design is similar to the iPhone 6S, but introduces new color options, water and dust resistance, static home button, and removes the 3.5 mm headphone jack.