Bank Holidays in August: Festivities are around the corner and banks will remain closed for 15 days in August. So if you have any important bank-related work planned for this month, you should check this list of bank holidays in August before heading to your bank. According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) notification, public and private banking operations will remain closed for a total of 15 days in the upcoming month, including second Saturdays and Sundays.Also Read - Bank Holidays 2022: Banks To Remain Closed For 21 Days in October, Check Full List of Holidays Here

As per the RBI calendar, there are eight bank holidays in August 2021 apart from weekends. These include – Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday and Banks’ Closing of Accounts. Also Read - Video: 'Baba Bulldozer' Featuring Posters of PM Modi, CM Yogi Spotted on New Jersey Streets During Tiranga Rally | WATCH

Besides, bank holidays also vary state-to-state across the country in view of specific festivals observed in some states. Moreover, not all holidays are observed by all the banking companies. Also Read - Banks to Remain Shut For 4 Days in a Row From Tomorrow in These Cities | FULL LIST

August 1 is a Sunday which means that all banks will remain closed on the first day of the next month.

Complete list of bank holidays in August:

Saturdays and Sundays:

August 1: Sunday

August 8: Sunday

August 14: 2nd Saturday

August 15: Sunday

August 22: Sunday

August 28: 4th Saturday

August 29: Sunday

Holidays in August:

13 August 2021FridayPatriot’s Day
16 August 2021MondayParse New Year
19 August 2021ThursdayMuharram (Ashoora)
20 August 2021FridayMuharram/First Onam
21 August 2021SaturdayThiruvonam
23 August 2021MondaySree Narayana Guru Jayanthi
30  August 2021MondayJanmashtami (Shravan Vad-8)/Krishna Jayanthi
31 August 2021TuesdaySri Krishna Ashtami

Independence Day (August 15) and Rakshabandhan (August 22) are on a Sunday this time, so there will be no additional holiday for these two occasions.

Parse New Year (Shahenshahi) on August 16, 2021, will be a bank holiday in Belapur, Mumbai, and Nagpur.

Muharram (Ashoora) on August 19, 2021, will be a bank holiday in Agartala, Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bhopal, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, and Srinagar.

Long Weekends in August:

August 13-16, August 19-23, and August 28-31 will be a continuous bank holiday, so customers are advised to plan their banking needs accordingly.

While customers cannot go to the bank to avail any offline banking operations on the mentioned dates, online banking activities will be fully functional as usual.