New Delhi: Banks are closed in several cities in India such as Mumbai, Pune, Ahmedabad, Nagpur, Lucknow, Kanpur and Jaipur on Monday in view of festivals including the Vikram Samvat New Year, stated a report. Also Read - Bank Holiday Alert: Banks To Remain Closed For 4 Days From Today In These Cities | Full List Here

This bank holiday is just a day after the Diwali celebrations across the country and is being observed under the Negotiable Instruments Act. Notably, banks were also shut on October 26 which marked the fourth Saturday of the month. Also Read - Ramazan 2021 Moon Sighting India Highlights: Crescent Moon Not Sighted, India To Begin Fasting From Wednesday

Here is a full list of bank holidays for the month of October this year: Also Read - Ramadan 2021 Moon Sighting Saudi Arabia Highlights: Crescent Moon Sighted, Saudi Arabia To Begin Fasting From Tuesday

  • October 2 – Gandhi Jayanti
  • October 6 – Sunday
  • October 7 – Navami
  • October 8 – Dussehra
  • October 12 – Second Saturday
  • October 13 – Sunday, Valmiki Jayanti
  • October 20 – Sunday
  • October 26 – Fourth Saturday
  • October 27 – Diwali
  • October 28 – Govardhan Puja
  • October 29 – Bhai Dooj

As per a report, the banks in Delhi, Chennai, Bengaluru, Kolkata, Hyderabad among other cities across India were opened after a two-day long holiday. In addition to bank holidays, the share markets of Mumbai were also shut on the occasion of Diwali Balipratipada, added the report.