New Delhi, October 12: Liquor in Tamil Nadu is set to cost more as the Tamil Nadu government on Wednesday hiked the liquor prices at Tamil Nadu State Marketing Corporation (TASMAC) outlets across the state. The decision to increase rates of various brands of liquor ranging from Rs 10 to Rs 25 was taken during the Tamil Nadu Cabinet meeting on Wednesday. Once the decision is implemented, the state is believed to earn Rs 2,250 crore more annually. With the latest development, a 180-ml alcohol bottle would now be costlier by Rs 12, while the price of beer would go up by Rs 10. “The state will earn Rs 2,250 crore more (annually) because of the move,” an official with the state liquor retailing company TASMAC was quoted by Economic Times. Also Read - Elephant Dies After Being Set on Fire by Tamil Nadu Resort Workers, Horrific Act Caught on Camera

The Edappadi K Palaniswami-led  All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) government in Tamil Nadu is preparing to increase the salaries of government employees. As per sources, the decision taken by the Cabinet is likely to be implemented from next week and a formal order in this regard will be issued on Friday. A senior official said, “Though the Cabinet has approved the proposal, it is yet to be made formal. A formal order will be issued on Friday”. Also Read - Sasikala Tests Positive For Coronavirus in Second RT-PCR Test, Shifted to Intensive Care

The AIADMK had, in its 2016 election manifesto, said that it will prohibit the consumption of alcohol in the state, but the implementation will come in a phased manner. As per reports, Palaniswamy had ordered closing 500 more TASMACs after taking charge in February 2017. Despite state government’s various efforts to implement prohibition of liquor in the state, TASMACs posted a 4.45 per cent increase in revenues in 2016-17 as compared to the previous year – from Rs 25,845 crore in 2015-2016 to Rs. 26,995 in 2016-2017. Also Read - Kamala Harris's Ancestral Villages Gets into Festive Mood Ahead of Her Swearing-In As US Vice President