The 70th British Academy Film Awards were held on February 12, 2017, at the Royal Albert Hall in London. The honorary award show which is recognises the best brutish as well as international contributions to movies in 2016. Emma Stone starrer, La La Land stole the show with five trophies in its kitty. Emma Stone was awarded the Best Actress award for her stellar performance. Indian origin actor, Dev Patel also bagged the award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his critically acclaimed movie, Lion. The BAFTA, 2017 nominations list, had many Black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) artists, following criticism from the industry, some of whom went on to bag the honourable awards. Stephen Fry takes dig at Donald Trump during Bafta awards

Casey Affleck was named best actor for his portrayal of a grief-stricken man in Manchester by the Sea, and Viola Davis won the best-supporting-actress prize for Fences, which is based on his Pulitzer Prize-winning play of the same name. Dev Patel charms with his funny speech after Bafta win!

Here is the list of all the winners at the BAFTA 2017.

Best film
WINNER: La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
Arrival – Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde, Aaron Ryder
I, Daniel Blake – Rebecca O’Brien
Manchester By The Sea – Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward, Kevin J. Walsh
Moonlight – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski

Best Director:
WINNER: La La Land – Damien Chazelle
Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach
Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Best Actress in a Leading Role
WINNER: Emma Stone – La La Land
Amy Adams – Arrival
Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins
Natalie Portman – Jackie

Best Actor in a Leading Role
WINNER: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Best Cinematography:
WINNER: La La Land – Linus Sandgren
Arrival – Bradford Young
Hell Or High Water – Giles Nuttgens
Lion – Greig Fraser
Nocturnal Animals – Seamus McGarvey

Best Original Screenplay:
WINNER: Manchester By The Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Hell Or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
WINNER: Dev Patel – Lion
Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
WINNER: Viola Davis – Fences
Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea
Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion

EE Rising Star Award
WINNER: Tom Holland
Laia Costa
Lucas Hedges
Ruth Negga
Anya Taylor – Joy

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
WINNER: Under the Shadow: Babak Anvari (writer/director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (producers)
The Girl With All the Gifts – Mike Carey (writer), Camille Gatin (producer)
The Hard Stop: George Amponsah (writer/director/producer), Dionne Walker (writer/producer)
Notes on Blindness: Peter Middleton (writer/director/producer), James Spinney (writer/director), Jo-Jo Ellison (producer)
The Pass: John Donnelly (writer), Ben A Williams (director)

Best Special Visual effects:
WINNER: The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez
Arrival – Louis Morin
Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner
Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins
Rogue One: A Star Wars History – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner

Best Animated Film:
WINNER: Kubo And The Two Strings – Travis Knight
Finding Dory – Andrew Stanton
Moana – Ron Clements, John Musker
Zootropolis – Byron Howard, Rich Moore

Best Adapted Screenplay:
WINNER: Lion – Luke Davies
Arrival – Eric Heisserer
Hacksaw Ridhe – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight
Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Best Film not in the English language:
WINNER: Son Of Saul – Laszlo Nemes, Gabor Sipos
Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux
Julieta – Pedro Almodovar
Mustang – Deniz Gamze Erguven, Charles Gillibert
Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski

Best Documentary:
WINNER: 13th – Ava DuVernay
The Beatles: Eight Days A Week – The Touring Years – Ron Howard
The Eagle Huntress – Otto Bell, Stacey Reiss
Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney
Weiner – Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg

Best Production Design:
WINNER: Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock
Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood
Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh
La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco
Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist

Best Editing:
WINNER: Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert
Arrival – Joe Walker
La La Land – Tom Cross
Manchester By The Sea – Jennifer Lame
Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel

Best Short Film:
WINNER: Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell
Consumed – Richard John Seymour
Mouth Of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson
The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor MacNeill
Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hannon

Best Short Animation:
WINNER: A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King
The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh
Tough – Jennifer Zheng

Casey Affleck included Meryl Streep and her famous Golden Globes Speech in his acceptance speech. The American actor said “I told her how much her speech at the Golden Globes meant to all of us and how grateful I was that she did it and kicked in the door a little bit, and said it’s OK to talk about these things and said it doesn’t matter if we are actors, we have been given a microphone, and we can speak out. She said, ‘I think there is hope around the corner’.” Emma Stone also spoke about the global situation in her award acceptance speech and said that it is special to come together at the BAFTA to celebrate the positive gift of creativity.