The Chinese New Year 2017 began on Saturday, January 28, with New Year’s Eve that was celebrated the world over by the Chinese on Friday, January 27. Also known as the Chinese Lunar New Year 2017 and traditionally known as the Spring Festival in China, the Chinese New Year is dedicated to a particular animal each year. Accordingly, the Chinese New Year 2017 is the Year of the Rooster. As there are 12 zodiac signs in the Gregorian calendar, according to the Chinese calendar also there are 12 animals in the order of the Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig. The year 2015 was the Year of the Goat while 2016 was the Year of the Monkey, so 2017 is the Year of the Rooster in the Chinese New Year.

The Chinese New Year is the most important festival in China and the biggest holiday that will last till Thursday, February 2, 2017. The Chinese Lunar New Year is celebrated every year around the time when spring is closest to the New Moon Day. The Chinese Lunar New Year uses the 12 animal zodiac signs, known as the Shēngxiào Zodiac, the Shio Zodiac or simply the Chinese Zodiac. The year you are born in determines what animal you are. So, which are the years that determine whether you are a Rooster or not? According to the Chinese Lunar New Year, people born in the years of 1933, 1945, 1957, 1969, 1981, 1993, 2005 and 2029, and so on, are Roosters.

But the Chinese New year is not just dedicated to an animal each year but also an element to go along with it. The Chinese New Year recognises wood, water, fire, earth and metal or gold as one of the five elements that combine with an animal each year. So, the Chinese Lunar New Year 2017 is a the Year of the Fire Rooster. A sign and element combination is repeated once in 60 years.

Important Dates of Chinese Lunar New Year 2017

The Important Dates of the Chinese Lunar New Year 2017 are as follows: January 27 – Friday, Chinese New Year’s Eve 2017; Saturday, January 28 – Chinese New Year’s Day 2017, also the First Day of First Month; Sunday, January 29 – Second Day of First Month.

What are the qualities of a Fire Rooster?

According to Chinese website China Highlights, the Fire Rooster is “Trustworthy, with a strong sense of timekeeping and responsibility at work”. Chinese New Year: Bollywood stars and their Chinese Zodiac signs!

Is 2017 Unlucky for Roosters?

It is believed in Chinese astrology that it is unlucky to be in a Chinese Lunar New Year that is dedicated to your animal zodiac. Roosters, watch out! The year 2017 is yours but may just be unlucky for you! This year, avoid the Unlucky Colour – Red, and the Unlucky Numbers 1, 3 and 9. The Unlucky Direction for Roosters in 2017 has been stated as East while the Unlucky Months for Roosters are the third, ninth and 12th month of the Chinese Lunar New Year 2017. Calendar 2017: New Year 2017 Calendar with List of all Indian Holidays & Festivals.

What are the Lucky Things for Roosters in 2017?

The Lucky Dates for Roosters in the Chinese New Year have been stated as the 4th and the 26th of each month, while the Lucky Numbers are 5, 7 and 8. The Roosters’ Lucky Colours are Yellow, Gold and Brown while the Lucky Directions are South and Southeast. The Lucky Months are the second, fifth and 11th month of the Chinese Lunar New Year 2017. (Chinese Lunar New Year photo courtesy Green Rush Twitter.)