The first total lunar eclipse of 2019, known as a wolf moon, is expected to be both a supermoon and a reddish-copper blood moon. This occurs when the moon passes through the earth’s shadow. Each full moon has a specific name, and the one which will occur in January 2019 is named as ‘Super Blood Wolf Moon‘. On January 20 and 21, a Super Blood Wolf Moon will grace the skies. This lunar eclipse will see three celestial events coincide and will give a phenomenal sight across the winter night sky.

If you’re looking to click pictures of the blood moon, you might have some lucky shooting a picture through binoculars or a telescope. Also, it’s a great time to view the stars, as they will be brighter and clearer.

What is Super Blood Wolf Moon?

According to IndiaTV reports, the name ‘Super Blood Wolf Moon’ is arrived from the native American times when wolves would appear outside villages and howl in hunger at the full moon. The Full Moon is also a Super Moon and Blood Moon, creating the Super Blood Wolf Moon. A Super Moon is when the Full Moon is as close to Earth than usual, so appears larger.

How can you see Super Blood Wolf Moon?

For those wanting to witness the phenomenon, heading somewhere away from artificial light and light pollution will give the clearest view. As this is a lunar eclipse, you do not need any eye protection to observe the event. It will be visible on the night-side of earth, which includes South America, the eastern Pacific Ocean, the western Atlantic Ocean and extreme western Europe.

What are the timings to watch Super Blood Wolf Moon?

The Super Blood Wolf Moon will start late in the evening on Jan 20. The total lunar eclipse will be visible throughout the U.S. and will finish during the wee hours of January 21. It begins at 9:36 pm EST (8:06 am IST) on January 20 and end at 2:48 am EST (1:18 pm IST) on January 21.