The 65th National Film Award was announced today at PIB Conference Room, Shastri Bhawan in New Delhi. The award announcement comprised of three juries (Feature, Non-feature, and Writing) which were headed by the director Shekhar Kapur, announced the awards for the different categories. Late actress Sridevi was awarded Best Actress award for her film ‘Mom’ and Best Actor award was bagged by Ridhi Sen for the film ‘Nigarkirtan’. Singer and composer AR Rahman won the Best music direction award for ‘Kaatru Veliyidai’ and for the background music for the film ‘Mom’. This award makes him the only composer to win six National Awards.

For the film ‘Newton’ actor Pankaj Tripathi received the special mention for his role in the movie. ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’ also won the National Award for Best Special Effects, Best Action Direction, and  Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment award. Late actor Vinod Khanna also received Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his immense contribution to the Indian cinema.

The jury panel has 10 members which include screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey. Though the announcement was held today, the 65th National Film Award will be held on May 3, 2018. The award will be presented by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Twitterati has given their heartiest congratulations to the winners.

Take a look at how Twitterati reacted towards the National Award winners

The movie ‘The Ghazi Attack’ too won the award for the Best Telugu movie. Choreographer Ganesh Acharya won the award for Best Choreography for the song Gori tu lath maar for the movie ‘Toilet-Ek Prem Katha’. Other prominent winners are Jyaraj for the Best Director for the movie ‘Bhayanakam’, ‘Village Rockstar’ was awarded as Best Film.