The first total lunar eclipse of 2019, known as Super Wolf Blood Moon is expected to be a supermoon and a reddish-copper blood moon. It is one of the rare celestial events that will be taking place on January 20 and will continue until the wee hours of January 21. The eclipse will be visible around the world, especially in North America. According to Space.com, the full moon will appear to be as glow red, the result of sunlight scattered and refracted around Earth.

What are the timings to watch Super Blood Wolf Moon?

The Super Blood Wolf Moon will start late in the evening on Jan 20. The total lunar eclipse will be visible throughout the US and will finish during the wee hours of January 21. It begins at 9:36 pm EST (8:06 am IST) on January 20 and end at 2:48 am EST (1:18 pm IST) on January 21.

Where all it will be visible:

The celestial rare event will be visible from across most parts of Asia, including India. It can also be viewed from across America, Greenland, Iceland, Western Europe and Western Africa. Though in Eastern Africa and Eastern Europe, the eclipse will only be visible partially.

What is Super Blood Wolf Moon?

According to IndiaTV reports, the name ‘Super Blood Wolf Moon’ is arrived from the native American times when wolves would appear outside villages and howl in hunger at the full moon. The Full Moon is also a Super Moon and Blood Moon, creating the Super Blood Wolf Moon. A Super Moon is when the Full Moon is as close to Earth than usual, so appears larger.

How can you see Super Blood Wolf Moon?

For those wanting to witness the phenomenon, heading somewhere away from artificial light and light pollution will give the clearest view. As this is a lunar eclipse, you do not need any eye protection to observe the event. It will be visible on the night-side of earth, which includes South America, the eastern Pacific Ocean, the western Atlantic Ocean and extreme Western Europe.