Today marks the 66th anniversary of India’s independence from the British rule.Also Read - Viral Video: Bihar Boy Complains Nitish Kumar About Lack of Quality Education, Stumps Him With Emotional Request | Watch

After centruries of occupation by European powers, we were finally freed from their clutches due to the efforts of our own. Also Read - 190 Countries & 13 Crore Students: How Khan Academy is Reinventing Education, One Lesson At a Time

Here is a list of 10 most significant events that led to our freedom and the establishment of the sovereign nation of India. Also Read - Zomato CEO Deepinder Goyal To Donate Rs 700 Crores For Education Of Children Of Delivery Partners

Read 10 Things you would want to know about India and its independence

1857 – India’s First War of Independence, termed Sepoy Riots by the British was an attempt to unite India against the invading British.

The rebellion led to the end of the East India Company’s rule in India. In August, by the Government of India Act 1858, the company was formally dissolved and its ruling powers over India were transferred to the British Crown.

1885 – The Indian National Congress (also known as the Congress Party/INC) was created and became India’s major political party.

The party became the Nation’s leader in the Independence Movement in its struggle against the British Empire.

1915 – Gandhiji returned to India and joined the Indian National Congress.

He took leadership of Congress in 1920 and began agitating against the British.

On  January 26, 1930, the Indian National Congress declared the independence of India which the British did not recognize.

1916 – Lucknow Pact was an agreement reached between the Indian National Congress and the Muslim League.

Muhammed Ali Jinnah, then a member of the Congress as well as the League, made both the parties reach an agreement to pressure the British government to adopt a more liberal approach to India and give Indians more authority to run their country.

1919 – The tragic Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place on April 13.

This event in which Brigadier-General Reginald E.H. Dyer ordered indiscriminate firing at a crowd including women and children, killing hundreds of them, caused much resentment and anger among the people and led to the Non-Cooperation Movement.

1920 – The Non-Cooperation Movement was a significant phase of the Indian struggle for freedom.

Protestors would refuse to buy British goods, adopt the use of local handicrafts, picket liquor shops, and try to uphold the Indian values of honor and integrity.

1935 – The Government of India Act and the creation of a new constitution laid the foundations for the events that would follow in the next decade and thereafter.

1940 – England’s involvement in the Second World War weakened the British Empire.

After shaking off the effects of the First World War this war caused the thinning of the British resources and would be significant in deciding India’s future.

1942 – The Quit India movement called for the immediate withdrawal of the British from India and the British responded by putting most of the INC leadership in jail.

1947 – End of British rule and partition of sub-continent into mainly Hindu India and Muslim-majority state of Pakistan.

And India welcomed its new dawn with Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru’s famous words – “At the stroke of the midnight hour, when the world sleeps, India will awake to life and freedom…”

Image courtesy:

(Follow regular updates and share stories by indiancolleges on Facebook and on Twitter)