New Delhi: The Delhi government on Wednesday announced that schools in the national capital will reopen on January 18 for students of Class 10 and 12. The decision has been taken in light of preparations for the upcoming board exams, pre-board examinations and practical work.Also Read - Rajasthan Imposes Fresh COVID Curbs; Jaipur Schools Closed Till Class 8 From Jan 3-9. Details Here

Notably, students of Class 10 and Class 12 will be back to campus after more than nine months. The Delhi government has, however, requested schools to call students only after the consent of their parents and with necessary COVID-19 precautions. Also Read - Patna Schools to Remain Closed For Classes 1 to 8 Till January 8. Details Inside

“In order to conduct activities pertaining to pre-board preparation & practical work, the Govt and Govt aided/unaided schools may call students of Class 10 and 12 only to school from 18th January. The child should be called to school only with the consent of parents,” the Government of Delhi released a circular. Also Read - Amid Rising Omicron Cases, Will Maharashtra Govt Shut Schools And Colleges Again? Aaditya Thackeray Spills The Beans

“While the records of children coming to school be maintained, the same should not be used for attendance purpose as sending the child to school is completely optional for parents,” it added.

The circular further mentioned that only schools outside containment zones will be allowed to reopen and any student, teacher or staff member residing in such areas will not be allowed to attend.

There will be no assembly or physical outdoor activities that require children to be in close contact with each other.

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) has announced the dates for board exams 2021. The pre-board examinations of Class 12 will be held between March 3 and April 15, while it will be conducted from April 1 to April 15 for Class 10 students.

Meanwhile, the CBSE board exams will be conducted between May 3 and 10, while the practical exams will be held from March 1 onwards.