Georgia’s Parliament has confirmed on December 29, 2015 that Giorgi Kvirikashvili will be the country’s next Prime Minister. The decision comes after Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili resigned from the post on December 29, 2015. The 33-year-old Prime Minister of Georgia Irakli Garibashvili suddenly resigned from his office after completing just two years in his office without explaining his decision.  He was the 11th Prime Minister of Georgia and had entered office on November 20, 2013. Giorgi Kvirikashvili has been nominated as the 12th Prime Minister of Georgia by the outgoing Prime Minister Irakli Garibasvili. Giorgi Kvirikashvili was serving as the Foreign minister of Georgia since September 2015. Also Read - CBSE & ICSE Board Exams 2021: Top 7 Things to do For Preparation |Watch Video

Parliament speaker David Usupashvili announced on December 29, 2015 that parliament of Georgia has approved the new government and also ratified Kvirikashvili’s choice of cabinet. President Giorgi Margvelashvili will now officially ratify the decision. Irkali Garibashvili is a member of the Gerogian dream political party. Also Read - CBSE Board Exam 2021: Tips to Cope Up With Stress For Children And Parents | Watch Video

Speaking to lawmakers ahead of the vote, Kvirikashvili said his government’s ultimate goal is full membership in the European Union and NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organisation) and pursuing a pragmatic and peaceful policy towards Russia. Also Read - Telangana Schools to Reopen for Classes 6 and 8 After Nearly 11 Months


The Georgian Dream political party had won the Parliamentary elections held in 2012 under the leadership of Bidzina Ivanishvili, who became the Prime Minister of Georgia on October 25, 2012. He resigned from the office of the Prime Minister in November 2013 voluntarily after his close associate and party member Giorgi Margvelashvili won the Presidential elections of 2013. Irkali Garibashvili was then nominated as the 11th Prime Minister of Georgia.


Georgia is an eastern European nation and has an unicameral legislature. The legislature consists of 150 seats of which 77 members are elected through the Propotional representation system and 73 are elected directly through respective constituencies. The Georgian Dream party currently has about 87 seats in the Parliament while the main opposition party is the UNM (United National Movement) which has about 50 seats in the Parliament. The next Parliamentary election is due in 2016.

Image Courtesy: Getty Images