The JEE Apex board is going to conduct the JEE Main 2017 exam on April 2, 2017 and this will be the fifth Joint Entrance Examination. The online application process for the same will start from December 1, 2016 and the last date of online application is January 2, 2017. The fee can be paid till January 3, 2017. For more information related to JEE Main 2017 application process, eligibility criteria, etc candidates should visit the official website Read - Aadhaar Authentication Made Mandatory For Claiming GST Refund. All You Need to Know

Candidates from the States like Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Nagaland & Odisha are also advised to fill in the JEE (Main) -2017 application form online. This year these above-mentioned states have also joined JEE (Main) 2017. Earlier, candidates from these states used to take admission based on their State level examination. Though the online application process is a better option for aspirants, but this year the CBSE board has made Aadhaar card mandatory for online application. The use of Aadhaar for the applicants of JEE (Main) 2017 will result in an accuracy of the applicants’ details. This will also help in ascertaining identities of the applicants at the examination centres in a convenient and hassle free manner. Aadhaar obviates the need for producing multiple documents to prove one’s identity. The provisions of the Aadhaar Act and Regulations under the Act have come into effect from September 14, 2016 and notifications to this effect have been published in the Official Gazette. Section 57 of the Aadhaar Act 2016 permits the use of Aadhaar number for establishing the identity of an individual for any purpose pursuant to any law or any contract to this effect. And thus, many of the aspirants who do not have Aadhaar card are facing hurdles. Also Read - Aadhaar Card Update: THIS Portal Helps Users To Check Mobile Numbers Linked to Aadhaar Card

So, now the CBSE has uploaded a public notice clarifying everything related to the Aadhaar card. Candidates those who have Aadhaar card shall enter Aadhaar number, name, date of birth & gender in the online application for JEE (Main) 2017 for the purpose of their identity and authentication thereof. Also Read - EPFO-Aadhaar Linking Deadline Extended For THESE Establishments | Details Inside

And candidates those who have not yet enrolled for Aadhaar, are hereby required to make application for Aadhaar enrolment in case he/she is entitled to obtain Aadhaar as per section 3 of Aadhaar Act. Such applicant may visit any Aadhaar enrolment center (list available at to get enrolled for Aadhaar. In order to facilitate such applicants who are not having Aadhaar, the CBSE has specially set up facilitation centres in each city of examination for the purpose of Aadhaar enrolment. The applicants can approach such facilitation centres who will not charge any amount from any applicant for Aadhaar enrolment. The list of the facilitation centre is available on These applicants who have enrolled for Aadhaar and have not received Aadhaar should enter 28 digit Aadhaar Enrolment ID printed on the Aadhaar enrolment slip at the time of filling online application form for JEE(Main) 2017.

In case at the facilitation centre Aadhaar enrolment facility is not available, the applicants should submit a request for Aadhaar enrolment. The facilitation centre will issue a registration number to such applicants. This registration number should be entered by the applicants at the time of filling online application form for JEE (Main) 2017.

A Circular to all CBSE affiliated schools is being issued for the awareness of applicants regarding the requirement of Aadhaar to apply for JEE (Main) 2017. The above provisions shall be applicable in all states except J&K, Assam & Meghalaya. The applicants who have passed or appearing in Class XII examination from the states of J&K, Assam & Meghalaya need to enter the passport number, ration card number, bank account number or any other valid Govt. identity number provided they should select the city of examination in these states only.