The Punjab government on June 9 said it will open 13 new government colleges in the state this year. Out of these, 2 colleges are professional, 2 Model Degree and 9 are Degree colleges, said Surjit singh Rakhra, Higher Education Minister, in a release said. The construction work of these colleges was in full swing. He said that one professional, two model degree and nine other colleges would be started from the current session 2016-17. He said 2 professional and 2 model degree colleges would start in collaboration with Rashtriya Uchttam Siksha Abhiyan (RUSA). Also Read - Will Convert All State-Run Madrasas Into a General School: Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma

Two professional Government colleges, Punjab Arts and Sports College, Jalandhar and Punjab Aeronautical College of Engineering, Patiala would be opened with the investment of Rs 26 crore each. He said the Punjab state has contributed excess share of Rs 6.47 crore, besides contributing its share in proportion to the ratio of 60:40 as center and state share. He said the 70 per cent construction work of Punjab Arts and Sports College, Jalandhar has been completed and the academia session would start from the current session. Also Read - Anything For Education: Goa Students Trek 3km Everyday to Reach Hilltop to Access Internet For Online Classes

He said although the construction of Punjab Aeronautical College of Engineering, Patiala would be completed this year but the academia would start from the next session. Rakhra further informed that two model degree colleges are opened in Pathankot and Ferozepur with investment of Rs 12 crore each with the collaboration of RUSA. The construction work of these colleges has been completed and admission process in these colleges would start in arts, science and commerce streams from current session. Also Read - Will You Send Your Kids to School If They Reopen in October? 71% Parents Say No; Reveals Survey

The Higher Education Minister further said besides these four colleges, the state government will open nine more government colleges to impart higher quality education to the rural students. The Government has demarcated rural areas and towns to open these new government colleges. These colleges would be opened in Dharamkot (Moga), Sujanpur (Pathankot), Dhuri (Sangrur), Kishankot (Gurdaspur), Bahadarpur (Mansa), Barnala, Phillaur (Jalandhar), Nakodar (Jalandhar), Moonak (Sangrur).