Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was presented the Arjuna Award, which was also conferred on him in the year 2014. The award was presented by the Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal on July 31, 2015. Ashwin was not present during the Award Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2014 as he was a part of the India ODI team, which was touring England at that time. The 28-year-old off-spinner has taken 124 wickets in 25 Tests, 139 in 99 ODIs and 26 wickets in 25 T20 internationals, was expressed his delight after receiving the prestigious award. Also Read - CBSE & ICSE Board Exams 2021: Top 7 Things to do For Preparation |Watch Video

“The journey has been pretty good so far. I have been very lucky, in a lot of aspects I thank God for that. To a greater degree I just played for the country and felt that I was very lucky and then to be conferred the Arjuna award today from the Sports Minister is a big honour. I hope I serve the country in a better fashion and get more awards,” Ashwin told reporters. Also Read - CBSE Board Exam 2021: Tips to Cope Up With Stress For Children And Parents | Watch Video

With Sri Lanka tour round the corner, first Test begins August 12, Ashwin is not under any sort of pressure and is busy enjoying his game. Also Read - Telangana Schools to Reopen for Classes 6 and 8 After Nearly 11 Months

“Honestly, pressure is something that we are used to all the time. So pressure is not something that is a factor. I want to go there and get used to the conditions. I just want to enjoy my game. I am doing really well, the ball is coming out well so I just want to enjoy myself,” he said.

He was the fastest bowler in 80 years to complete 100 wickets in his 19th Test in November 2013 against the West Indies at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai which was also the farewell game for Sachin Tendulkar. The Chennai-born tweaker overtook the previous Indian record of one of the members of the famed spin quartet; off-spinner Erapalli Prasanna to reach the 100-wicket mark in one fewer Test. A total of 46 cricketers, including women, have been conferred the sporting honour.

With PTI Inputs