SSC CGL notification 2018: The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) on Saturday released the official notification of Combined Graduate Level (CGL) 2018 or SSC CGL 2018 on its official website – The Tier-I of CGL Examination in Computer Based Mode is scheduled to be held from July 27 to August 28 whereas, Tier-II exam will be conducted between November 27-30. The schedule for Tier-III and Tier-IV exam will be notified later.

Every year, the Staff Selection Commission conducts the CGL examination to fill various posts across the country. SSC CGL 2018 will be conducted for filling up Group “B” and Group “C” posts in various Ministries/ Departments/ Organizations in the Government of India. The pay scale for the former will be between Rs 9,300 – Rs 34,800 whereas, for the latter, it will be Rs 5,200- Rs 20,200. (Apply Online Directly)

The notification was earlier scheduled to be released on April 21, but was postponed till May 5. Last year’s SSC CGL recruitment was marred by allegations of Tier II paper leak. Close to 15 lakh candidates appear for SSC CGL recruitment each year.

The examination is conducted in four phases. Each Tier is supposed to be cleared by a candidate to get a job in the commission.

Age Limit:

Group B – 20 Years (Minimum), 30 Years (Maximum)
Group C – 18 Years (Minimum), 27 Years (Maximum)

Important Dates:


Application Fee:


Tier 1 examination is computer-based. It consists of 25 questions of 50 marks each. There are five sections – general intelligence, reasoning, general awareness, quantitative aptitude and English comprehension. Candidates will be given one hour to answer the questions. To qualify, a maximum score of 200 is mandatory. Negative marking of 0.5 will be done for each wrong answer.

Tier 2 examination will consists of questions on Quantitative Abilities, English Language and Comprehension, Statistics and General Studies (Finance and Economics). The candidates will be given two hours to complete the exam. To qualify, candidates need to score a total of 800 marks (200 per section). There will be negative marking of 0.5 for each wrong answer in all sections.

Tier 3 will be a descriptive. Candidates will have to write essays, letters and long pieces in Hindi or English. An hour time will be given to them.

Tier 4 will be a skill-based test.