CECs present list of MPs to President

New Delhi, May 18: The full Election Commission today called on President Pranab Mukherjee and handed over the list of 543 newly-elected members of Lok Sabha that will enable him initiate the formal process of new government formation.

Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath and the other two Commissioners H S Brahma and Nasim Zaidi met the President at Rashtrapati Bhavan and gave him a copy of the notification issued by the poll body in terms of provisions of Representation of the People Act containing the names of MPs elected in the just-concluded polls.

While the notification sets in motion the constitution of the 16th Lok Sabha, the list given to the President enables him to initiate government formation process.

On Tuesday, the BJP Parliamentary Party will elect Narendra Modi as its leader to be followed by a meeting of the NDA Parliamentary Party that will elect him as the coalition leader.

After this, a delegation of BJP and allies’ leaders is expected to call on the President and convey to him their choice of Modi as Prime Minister following which he will be invited to form the government.

Earlier in the day, the President dissolved the 15th Lok Sabha as recommended by the outgoing government yesterday.

The BJP has secured majority on its own in the elections for the 16th Lok Sabha by winning 282 seats and along with allies the NDA grouping has 336 MPs.