Chennai, May 19 : Senior leaders M Thambidurai and Dr V Maithreyan were today elected as Leader and Deputy Leader of the AIADMK Parliamentary Party respectively.

They were elected at a meeting of the party’s MPs presided over by party supremo and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, a party release said.
At the meeting attended among others by the 37 newly elected Lok Sabha members of the party, Jayalalithaa also advised the MPs on how they should conduct themselves in Parliament, it said.

Thambidurai, a former Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, was also chosen as the leader of the party in Lok Sabha. He had won from the Karur constituency in the April 24 Lok Sabha polls.

List of other Office-Bearers is as follows:

Lok Sabha:

Deputy Leader: P Venugopal; Whip: P Kumar Whip; Treasurer K N Ramachandran and Secretary R Vana Roja.

Maithreyan was elected leader of AIADMK group in Rajya Sabha and S Muthukaruppan Deputy Leader.

Whip: L Sasikala Pushpa; Treasurer: R Lakshmanan and Secretary: T Rathinavel, the release added.