Looks like it’s a year of cop dramas, what with Ranveer Singh’s Simmba, Akshay Kumar’s upcoming Sooryavanshi and now Ayushmann Khurrana‘s Article 15. Playing a police officer for the first time, Ayushmann looks convincing in the first look of the movie revealed by director Anubhav Sinha today in Mumbai. The movie revolves around Article 15 of the Indian Constitution which prohibits discrimination on grounds of religion, race, caste, sex or place of birth. Also Read - Doctor G: Ayushmann Khurrana To Star in Campus-Comedy Film Directed By Anubhati Kashyap

Sharing the news on his Instagram handle, film critic and trade analyst Taran Adarsh wrote, “IT’S OFFICIAL… Ayushmann Khurrana in Anubhav Sinha’s next film #Article15… Costars Isha Talwar, Manoj Pahwa, Sayani Gupta, Kumud Mishra and Mohd Zeeshan Ayyub… Filming commenced on 1 March 2019 in #Lucknow… Ayushmann’s look from the film:” (sic) Also Read - Real-Life Bala? Mumbai Man Hides His Baldness to Get Married, Wife Registers Police Case

Having essayed several versatile roles, from a sperm donor in Vicky Donor to a blind man in his latest release Andhadhun, Ayushmann said in a statement to IANS, “I’m always intrigued by the socio-political situation of our country. We hardly see films which present the situation in an unbiased way. Anubhav Sinha is one such director who understands the complexities of our country. I loved Mulk. It is the most balanced film based on communalism and extremism. And it will be an absolute pleasure to work with him on Article 15.”

Revealing his upcoming film to be an investigative drama where the audience too is an accused party, director Anubhav Sinha said, “A very challenging film that needed an extraordinary actor like Ayushmann. Delighted to have him on board with an explosive bundle of such talented and acclaimed actors.”

Produced by Benaras Media Works, the film went on the floors on March 1 in Lucknow and also stars Isha Talwar, Manoj Pahwa, Sayani Gupta, Kumud Mishra, M Nasser, Ashish Verma, Sushil Pandey, Subrajyoti Bharat, Ronjini Chakraborty and Zeeshan Ayub.