Makar Sankranti will be celebrated on January 15, 2019. With every state welcoming the new season of harvest in their own indigenous manner, the cultural significance varies geographically. It is said that on the day of Makar Sankranti, the Sun enters the sphere of Capricorn zodiac known as Makar. Further, the term ‘Sankranti’ signifies the movement of the Sun from one zodiac sign into another. Thus, the auspicious day is named as Makar Sankranti, which perfectly defines the movement of the Sun to the sphere of Makara. Also Read - Over 150 Birds Killed By Sharp Kite Strings During Makar Sankranti In Gujarat

During this festival, Churma of ghee, halwa and kheer are cooked. One brother of every married woman visits her home with a gift. The term is known as “Sidha”. Women give gifts to their in-laws, and this ritual called “Manana”. Also Read - Watch | Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos Flies Kites With Kids in Delhi, Says 'It Brings Back Memories'

In Gujarat, Makar Sankranti is known as Uttarayan whereas in Tamil Nadu it is known as Pongal, Uzhavar Thirunal. In Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Punjab it is named as Maghi. Before the arrival of this festival, people start preparing sweets and lip-smacking dishes to celebrate a good harvest period. Women offer the Shreemangalchandika prapatti and even offer it after the sunset on the day of Sankranti. This auspicious day holds a significance, Mata Mahishasurmardini, with the purpose of destroying Mahishasur, first set foot on earth, in the Kataraaj ashram of Rishi Kardam and Devahuti. Also Read - PM Modi To Visit Varanasi's Jangamwadi Math on February 16, Will Take Part in Veer Shaiva Mahakumbh

Timings, Date and Muhurat:

Punya Kaal Muhurta = 07:18 to 12:30

Duration = 5 Hours 11 Mins
Sankranti Moment = 20:05 on 14th, January

Mahapunya Kaal Muhurta = 07:18 to 09:02

Duration = 1 Hour 43 Mins