Navratri 2021 Start and End Date: The 9-day long celebration of Navratri is around the corner. Navratri literally means ‘nine nights and it is one of the most significant Hindu festivals that will be observed from October 7th this year. This auspicious occasion will last till October 15th. On October 15, Vijayadashami also known as Dussehra will be celebrated. It marks the end of Navaratri every year.Also Read - Patna's Priest Keeps 21 Urns on His Chest to Observe 9-day Navratri Festival

During Navaratri, devotees worship nine forms of Goddess Durga namely Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. The Navratri usually falls in September-October and is known as Shardiya Navratri. Also Read - 45-Foot-Tall Eco-Friendly Idol of Goddess Durga Installed at Pandal in Hyderabad | See Pics

Shardiya Navratri is celebrated to honour the victory of good over evil, as goddess Durga, defeated the demon Mahishasura. In West Bengal, Durga Puja has a special significance. This 5-day festivity will begin from October 7 and will last till 15. Also Read - Fasting While Travelling? Try These 5 Navratri-Special Delicacies to Stay Energetic

Navratri 2021 Calendar

  1. Day 1 – Ghatasthapana, Shailaputri Puja
  2. Day 2 – Brahmacharini Puja
  3. Day 3 – Chandraghanta Puja
  4. Day 4 – Kushmanda Puja
  5. Day 5 – Upang Lalita Vrat, Skandamata Puja
  6. Day 6 – Katyayani Puja
  7. Day 7 – Maha Saptami, Kalaratri Puja
  8. Day 8 – Mahashtami, Durgashtami, Kumari Puja, Mahagauri Puja
  9. Day 9 – Maha Navami, Navami Homa, Siddhidatri Puja

Significance of Navratri 2021

It is believed that Lord Shiva granted permission to his wife Goddess Durga for seeing her mother for just nine days. During that time, Goddess Durga demolished the demon Mahishasura. Hence Goddess Durga aka Kali is represented as a symbol of shakti – the ultimate strength. It is also said that Maa Durga has eternal divine power, which can never be created nor destroyed.

Throughout the nine nights, nine forms of the goddess are worshipped with much grandeur. On the 10th day, which is October 8 this year, people celebrate Vijayadashami means Dusshera by burning huge effigies of Ravana, Meghnad and Kumbhakarna. Thus, Navratri itself symbolises victory over evil.


During these nine nights of Navratri, people observe fast. Cultural programs are organised, people depict the story of Lord Rama. On the eighth day, Kanya Pujan is observed in which minor girls are worshipped and offered prashad, food and sweets. All over the country Dandiya and Garba programmes are organised by community people.