Rohit Sharma threw his wicket once again in the Pool A match 34 against Ireland at Seddon Park, Hamilton. After scoring a composed half century, the Indian opener in an attempt to guide the ball to third-man region, lost his wicket. Rohit Sharma hit 64 runs before he was taken out by Stuart Thompson. Sharma hit three fours and as many sixes, in his innings of 64 runs off 66 deliveries. You can watch the video dismissal of Rohit Sharma’s wicket here.

India lost its first wicket on 174 runs in 23rd over, in the form of Rohit Sharma. The opening stand of 174 runs is the highest opening stand by an Indian pair in any World Cup tournament. The record was previously held by Sachin Tendulkar and Ajay Jadeja. The duo had then had a partnership of 163 runs in a match against Kenya in ICC World Cup 1996. (Also Watch India vs Ireland live streaming & score updates on Mobile).

Rohit Sharma’s partner Shikhar Dhawan crossed the 300-run mark in ICC World Cup 2015. Only two other batsmen has scored more than 300 hundred runs in this World Cup- AB De Villiers and Kumar Sangakkara.

India began their chase of 260 runs cautiously, with both Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan wearing off the shine of the new balls. The bad deliveries were dispatched to the boundary ropes whereas due respect were given to some great deliveries by Irish bowlers. The Indian openers’ cut loose as soon as spinners were introduced. Vice-captain Virat Kohli was the next man-in. India was playing on 178 runs for the loss of one wicket when the reports last came in.

Playing XI-

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma.  

Ireland: William Porterfield(c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Andrew Balbirnie, Niall O’Brien, Gary Wilson(w), Kevin O’Brien, John Mooney, George Dockrell, Alex Cusack, Stuart Thompson.