Image Design: Jyoti Desale

After losing first five matches on a trot Mumbai Indians (MI) did well to bounce back and finish fourth on the points table in last edition of Indian Premier League (IPL). MI’s lone title came in 2013 while in the 2010 edition they lost to Chennai Super Kings in the finals. Also Read: Full List of Players bought by Mumbai Indians Team for IPL 2015: IPL 8 Players Auction.

Team Composition: MI has a pretty balanced team with Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Lendl Simmons and Aaron Finch forming the batting line. All-rounders Keiron Pollard and Corey Anderson add an extra zing to their batting and bowling as well. The bowling attack is led by Lasith Malinga who has support of Indian pacers – R Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun and Jasprit Bumrah. MI can also consider the options Aussie quick Josh Hazlewood and Kiwi pacer Mitchell McClenaghan.

In the spin department, MI is heavily loaded with the presence of Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha and leg-break bowler Shreyas Gopal. Besides that, MI has a good bunch of domestic players like Aditya Tare, Unmukt Chand, Parthiv Patel as well. Also Watch- Indian Premier League 2015 Promo: ‘India ka Tyohaar’ Sony SIX Pepsi IPL 8 ad.

Star Player: Captain Rohit Sharma is MI’s main man. The right-handed batsman has a habit of performing well on home pitches and given his form of late; he is the one to watch out for in MI’s camp. His performance with the bat will be instrumental in taking the 2013 champions forward.


Prediction: The kind of players MI boasts of, their place in playoffs is somewhat certain, but consistency could be the declining factor in their game. No surprises if the miss out on playoffs though. Check Out: IPL 2015 Schedule – All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table of IPL.


Indian Players: Rohit Sharma, Aditya Tare, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Pawan Suyal, Shreyas Gopal, Unmukt Chand, R Vinay Kumar, Parthiv Patel, Pragyan Ojha, Akshay Wakhare, Hardik Pandya, Siddhesh Lad, J Suchith, Nitish Rana, Abhimanyu Mithun

Foreign Players: Corey Anderson, Mitchell McClenaghan, Josh Hazlewood, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Marchant de Lange, Lendl Simmons, Aaron Finch, Aiden Blizzard.