Mumbai Indians (MI) registered a comprehensive 41-run win over Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to clinch their second Indian Premier League (IPL) title.  Chasing a daunting target of 203, Super Kings were restricted to 161 for eight in 20 overs. You can watch highlights of MI vs CSK here.

CSK’s chase began on a wobbling note by losing opener Michael Hussey early in the fifth over. After Hussey’s dismissal Dwayne Smith and Suresh Raina steadied the ship with a 66-run stand for the second wicket.  But Harbhajan Singh brought MI back in the game by accounting for wickets of well-set batsman- Smith and Raina in quick succession. Also Read- Brilliant throw from Faf du Plessis sends Parthiv Patel packing.

After Smith and Raina’s wickets, Super Kings completely lost their way and were further dented with MI striking at regular intervals. Mitchell McClenaghan scalped three wickets while Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan accounted for two wickets each. R Vinay Kumar also chipped in with a wicket.

Earlier, Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma notched up impressive fifties to help their side put up a massive total. Ambati Rayudu and Kieron Pollard also scored crucial runs towards the end and shared a 71-run partnership off just 28-balls. For CSK Dwayne Bravo picked two wickets while Mohit Sharma and Dwayne Smith scalped a wicket each.