Photo Courtesy: Kadar Shaikh

Photo Courtesy: Kadar Shaikh

Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli and Rajasthan Royals’ skipper Shane Watson meet at the pitch for the toss. RCB wins the toss and elects to bowl first. RR will set the target and hopefully RCB can win because they have Chris Gayle in the side for the big shots.

The Rajasthan Royals lead the points table while Royal Challengers Bangalore are second from bottom thanks to MI’s ridiculous performance in Pepsi IPL 2015. The match is being played at Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad which is RR’s home ground. The match referee is Chinmaya Sharma and the umpires for the match are Marais Erasmus, S Ravi, Anil Chaudhary with Krishnaraj Srinathare.

Royals, the champions of the first edition of the tournament in 2008, have again begun punching above their weight with their astutely yet frugally assembled team, led by Australian Shane Watson and ably supported by James Faulkner, Steve Smith and Ajinkya Rahane. They have collected five victories from six outings to sit atop the standings.
RCB, meanwhile, flaunt an array of superstars like West Indian Chris Gayle, South African AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli. But despite the presence of such illustrious names, they are again floundering. They have managed only one win from four matches which suggests their frustration may extend to another season after yet another disappointing campaign.

RCB’s desperation to win should give them added motivation to turn the tide of their modest performances. Their game plan in any of the matches hasn’t clicked so far and they might well need to think out of the box to outwit a street smart Royals side. (With inputs from Agencies)

The squads:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villers, Chris Gayle, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mitchell Starc, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Harshal Patel, Mandeep Singh, Iqbal Abdullah, David Wiese, Sarfaraz Naushad Khan.

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Watson (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Deepak Hooda, Dhawal Kulkarni, James Faulkner, Karun Nair, Pravin Tambe, Sanju Samson, Steven Smith, Stuart Binny, Chris Morris.