New Delhi:  In Phase 2 of Lok Sabha elections today, as many as 1,600 candidates are vying for 95 seats in 11 states and 1 Union Territory. Among the prominent leaders whose fate would be decided today are senior Congress leader Veerappa Moily, Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi, former CMs H D Deve Gowda and Farooq Abdullah and actors-turned-politicians Hema Malini, Raj Babbar and Prakash Raj. (Catch LIVE Updates of Phase 2 Polling Here)Also Read - Presidential Election 2022: Yashwant Sinha is Opposition’s Joint Candidate For President’s Post

Voting was to be held on 97 seats initially but the cancellation of polling in Vellore, Tamil Nadu, and postponement of east Tripura seat election has brought the number down to 95. Also Read - Presidential Election 2022: Why Farooq Abdullah Turned Down Opposition’s Offer to Run For President?

Here’s a look at the prominent candidates for phase 2 election: Also Read - Presidential Election 2022: Who Will Be The Next President of India?

Assam: Five constituencies go to polls in Assam. While there are 50 candidates in the fray, the ones to watch out for are Assam Vidhan Sabha Deputy Speaker Karipanath Mallah (BJP), and All India Congress Women President Sushmita Dev. Two other prominent women candidates are Nazia Yasmin Mazumdar of National Peoples Party contesting from Silchar, and Swarnalata Chaliha of the SUCI(C) from Mangaldoi.

Bihar:  Here also, five constituencies go to polls with 69 candidates in the fray. Prominent among those fighting today is Tariq Anwar, who won from Katihar on an NCP ticket the last time but is now fielded as a Congress candidate, RJD Youth Wing President Shailesh Kumar.

Chhattisgarh: Three constituencies go to polls with 36 candidates. BJP played the spoilsport for its sitting MPs and many were denied a ticket this time. The heads which rolled include those of Abhishek Singh and Vikram Usendi. Those who made it include Chunnilal Sahu as also five-time legislator Congress’ Dhanendra Sahu.

Jammu & Kashmir:  Twenty-four candidates in the fray for two seats. Prominent leaders include former CM Farooq Abdullah who is seeking a fourth term in the Lok Sabha, BJP’s MoS Jitendra Singh and Congress’ Vikramaditya Singh. While Abdullah is contesting from Srinagar, the other two are pitted against each other in Udhampur.

Karnataka:  Fourteen constituencies go to polls with 241 candidates, 15 of them women. Prominent leaders in the fray are former PM H D Deve Gowda, senior Congress leader Veerappa Moily, Union Minister Sadananda Gowda and Prakash Raj contesting from Bangalore Rural as an Independent. Deve Gowda’s grandson Nikhil is contesting from Mandya.

Maharashtra: Ten constituencies go to polls with 179 candidates, 12 of them women. Prominent candidates include former chief ministers Ashok Chavan and Sushilkumar Shinde and BJP’s Pritam Munde who is the sitting lawmaker and daughter of late BJP leader Gopinath Munde.

Manipur: One constituency and it will see 11 candidates battle it out. There are no women candidates here. The heavyweights include BJP’s Rajkumar Ranjan Singh and Congress’ O Nabakishore Singh.

Odisha: Five constituencies go to polls with 35 candidates. There are five women candidates in phase 2. Prominent faces include Union Minister Jual Oram, Congress’ Samarendra Mishra and former CM Hemananda Biswal’s daughter Sunita Biswal of BJD.

Tamil Nadu: As many as 822 candidates are contesting in 38 constituencies. There are 63 women candidates in this phase. Prominent candidates are DMK’s Kanimozhi and Dayanidhi Maran, Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan and Congress’ Karti Chidambaram, son of former Union Minister P Chidambaram.

Uttar Pradesh: Eight constituencies go to polls with 85 candidates, ten of them being women. Prominent candidates are BJP lawmaker Hema Malini from Mathura, Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Raj Babbar who has been fielded from Fatehpur Sikri.

West Bengal:  Forty-one candidates are contesting in three constituencies. Heavyweights include Congress’ Deepa Das Munshi who is the wife of former Minister Priyaranjan Das Munshi and CPM’s Mohammed Salim who is a two-time lawmaker.

Puducherry: One constituency goes to polls with 18 candidates in the fray. There are two women candidates here. Prominent candidates are Congress’ Ve Vaithilingam, who is former chief minister and AINRC’s doctor-turned-politician Narayanasamy Kesavan.