Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Vote Counting Updates From Telangana: BJP Sends MPs From Adilabad, Karimnagar, Nizamabad; TRS From Zahirabad, Medak, Peddapalli

With the counting for the seven-phase Lok Sabha election concluding, Telangana's Adilabad, Karimnagar, Nizamabad go to BJP, whereas TRS gets Zahirabad, Peddapalli and Medak seats.

Updated: May 23, 2019 9:03 PM IST

By India.com News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

UP Election 2022 First Phase Updates:
UP Election 2022 First Phase Updates:

New Delhi: With the counting of all votes polled in seven phases of Lok Sabha elections 2019 concluding, here’s a look at the poised winners from Telangana’s Adilabad, Peddapalli, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Zahirabad and Medak seats.

Also Read:

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for counting of votes in all 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana today. The first set of EVMs were brought to tables at 8.20 AM. Counting of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) and Postal Ballots were taken up first.


Adilabad Lok Sabha Constituency

Soyam Bapu Rao of the BJP is likely to win in Adilabad by nearly 48,000 votes against Godam Nagesh of the TRS.

The Adilabad Lok Sabha seat is reserved for candidates of the scheduled tribes. With Maoists infecting this region with frequent insurgency, the Adilabad district is part of the Red Corridor in the country.

Adilabad is known as a traditional vote bank of the regional Telugu Desam Party (TDP). Though it was once a Congress since its inception but then it largely remained with TDP with TRS puncturing the vote bank every now and then. The sitting MP too is from TRS or Telangana Rashtriya Samiti’s Godam Nagesh. He won against Congress’ Naresh in 2014. Godam Nagesh was seeking re-election this term.

Peddapalli Lok Sabha Constituency

Latest reports suggest the Telangana Rashtriya Samithi’s Venkatesh Netha Borlakunta is close to winning from Peddapalli by nearly 95,000 votes.

Peddapalli Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for the scheduled caste candidates. It has as many as 1,315,642 registered voters according to an Election Commission of India report dated 2009. This constituency has been a vote-bank not only of the Congress but also the Telugu Desam Party, which won the seat twice.

Karimnagar Lok Sabha Constituency

Bandi Sanjay Kumar of the BJP is triumphing against TRS candidate Boianapalli Vinod Kumar in Karimnagar by over 77,000 votes, as per latest reports.

The Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency consists of 1,496,211 number of electorates, out of which 750,230 are males and 745,981 are females as per the ECI report of 2009.

The Karimnagar district meanwhile falls under the category of economically underprivileged. Karimnagar constituency has seen a BJP MP in 1998 only.

Nizamabad Lok Sabha Constituency

According to latest reports, Arvind Dharamapuri of the BJP is ahead of TRS’ Kalvakuntla Kavitha by 70,000 votes in Nizamabad and likely to be declared the winner.

One of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana, Nizamabad has been a Congress bastion since its formation in 1957. The Telugu Desam Party, on the other hand, was able to dent the voter base of the Congress here in 1991 and since it has been a two-way contest. TRS meanwhile barged into this fight and won the 2014 Lok Sabha election with Kalvakuntla Kavitha winning against Madhu Yashki Goud of the Congress by over 1,50,000 votes.

Medak Lok Sabha Constituency

Trends show TRS candidate Kotha Prabhakar Reddy leading by a massive mandate of over 2,00,000 votes against Anil Kumar Gali of the Congress in Medak and set to be declared a winner soon.

The Medak Lok Sabha constituency is currently held by Telengana Rashtriya Samiti. The Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao of TRS had won in 2014, when he beat Dr P Shravan Kumar Reddy of the Congress by receiving over 55% of the total votes polled.

But the TRS chief and Telangana CM KCR left his seat in 2016, after which TRS candidate Kotha Prabhakar Reddy won by a margin of 3,61, 277 votes.

Medak has traditionally seen a contest among the TDP, Congress and the TRS. This time the Congress fielded Gali Anil Kumar against the TRS’ Kotha Prabhakar Reddy and Raghunandan Rao of the BJP.

Zahirabad Lok Sabha Constituency

Meanwhile, in Zahirabad, the TRS candidate BB Patil is fighting against Madan Mohan Rao of the Congress and leading by 6166 votes. Patil is slated to win from Zahirabad.

The registered voters in the Zahirabad Lok Sabha constituency are 1,359,566, according to an ECI report of 2009. This Lok Sabha segment was formed in 2008. Zahirabad is located within the geographic boundaries of the Medak district.

The current MP is of the TRS BB Patil who won against Suresh Kumar Shetkar of the Congress in 2014 by more 1,50,000 votes. The incumbent MP BB Patil sought re-election against the BJP’s Banala Laxman Reddy and K MM Rao of the Congress.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on India.com.

Published Date: May 23, 2019 7:39 AM IST

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 9:03 PM IST