New Delhi: Saritha S Nair, who had filed a complaint of sexual misconduct against top Congress leaders, is now slated to contest the Lok Sabha elections as an independent candidate from Wayanad against Rahul Gandhi. Also Read - 'Nothing More Than Desperate Case of Political Compulsion For Badals', Punjab CM on SAD Snapping Ties With BJP

Nair, an accused in the multi-crore solar energy investment scam, has charged Ernakulam Congress legislator Hibi Eden with rape and former state ministers Adoor Prakash and A.P. Anil Kumar of outraging her modesty. Her candidature is a mark of protest over inaction in the case against the Congress members, she said. She is also contesting from the Ernakulam constituency against Hibi Eden. Also Read - Karnataka: No-confidence Motion Moved by Congress Against BS Yediyurappa Govt Defeated

On March 14, the Kerala police registered an FIR against three Congress legislators, likely to be named Lok Sabha candidates, on a complaint of sexual misconduct filed by Saritha S. Nair. Also Read - 'India Feels The Absence...', Rahul Gandhi Launches Veiled Attack on PM Modi on Manmohan Singh's Birthday

The FIR has been filed in a special court set up to fast track cases against legislators.

While Eden is likely to be fielded from the Ernakulam Lok Sabha seat, Prakash is being considered for either Attingal or Alappuzha, and Anil Kumar may get a ticket from Alathur.
Eden termed the FIR a ploy to sully the image of the Congress and its candidates. “It is an issue for them to use politically,” he said.

Kochi-based solar company Team Solar Renewable Energy Solutions, floated by Nair and her live-in partner Biju Radhakrishnan, was accused of duping investors of crores of rupees for a solar power project.

The scam dogged the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) government in 2013 with allegations that Nair could hoodwink investors because of her proximity to the Chief Minister’s office.

Then Chief Minister Oommen Chandy’s private secretary Tenny Joppan was also arrested in the case.

With IANS inputs