The ruling AIADMK on Tuesday announced its candidates for by-polls to four Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu scheduled on May 19. Party Coordinator O Panneerselvam and Joint Coordinator K Palaniswami said in a statement that the decision to field the candidates to Sulur, Aravakurichi, Tirupprankundram and Ottapidaram (SC) was taken by the party’s Parliamentary Board. Also Read - 'OPS For CM' Posters Create Ripples in AIADMK Ahead of 2021 TN Assembly Elections

Palaniswami is the Chief Minister of the state while Panneerselvam is his deputy. Also Read - No NPR For Now in Tamil Nadu: State Government Puts Exercise on Hold After Centre Doesn't Answer Queries

The two leaders named VP Kandasamy (Sulur), VV Senthilnathan (Aravakurichi), S Muniyandi (Tirupparankundram) and P Mohan to Oddapidaram as the party’s nominees. Also Read - AIADMK MP Urges Centre to Grant Dual Citizenship to Sri Lankan Tamils

Mohan is a former MLA while the others hold various party posts.

Of these four seats, by-polls to Tirupparankundram and Sulur were necessitated due to the death of their sitting AIADMK legislators.

Aravakurichi and Ottapidaram fell vacant following the disqualification of AIADMK MLAs representing them, V Senthil Balaji and R Sundararaj, respectively, after they were part of the 18 ruling party MLAs who revolted against Palaniswami for merging his led faction with that of Panneerselvam then.

On April 18, by-polls to 18 Assembly segments in the state were held along with elections to 38 Lok Sabha seats.

The Election Commission of India had recently announced by-polls to the said four Assembly seats, thus covering all the 22 vacant segments.

The outcome of the by-polls would decide the continuance of the two year-old Palaniswami-led government as it would have to win a substantial number of seats to stay in power.

In the present Assembly, the AIADMK has a strength of 113 members, minus the Speaker. It needs a simple majority of 117 to continue in the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly.