New Delhi: The election to Tripura West seat will be held on April 11. Tripura West is one of the two Lok Sabha seats in the state. There are a total of 30 assembly seats under this unreserved Lok Sabha seat. Tripura has always seen the Congress and the Left fighting but this time the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will also become a part of the poll battle as voters are gearing up to exercise their franchise in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Tripura will go for polling in two phases this year. West Tripura seat would go for polling on April 11 and East Tripura (ST reserved) would cast votes on April 18 across 3,324 polling stations.

It must be noted that BJP state vice president Subal Bhowmick left the party to rejoin Congress just a few days ahead of the elections. Within a matter of a few days, he was announced as the Congress candidate from Tripura West. Following Bhowmick’s exit, the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) ally in the state decided to contest from both the Tripura West and East seats.

BJP candidate from Tripura West seat is Pratima Bhowmick and she is against former party colleague Subal Bhowmick. Sitting Left MP, CPIM’s  Shankar Prasad Dutta is also in the fray. As for IPFT, Brishketu Debbarman will be seen contesting.

Tripura ruling alliance partner Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) vice president Ananta Debbarma also quit the tribal party on Sunday, April 8, just three days before the polling and joined Congress.

There are a total of 60 seats in Tripura Legislative Assembly. IPFT holds 9 Assembly seats out of 44 seats in the BJP-IPFT alliance.