New Delhi: The voting for Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly election 2019 will be held on April 11 and the result will be declared on May 23, 2019, along with Lok Sabha polls and three other state assemblies results—Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and Sikkim. Also Read - MP Police Detains Digvijaya Singh, Uses Water Canons to Disperse Congress Workers Protesting Against Farm Laws | Watch

Notably, Arunachal Pradesh has 60 assembly seats and two Lok Sabha seats. Also Read - Breaking News: Fire Breaks Out in Delhi's Uttam Nagar, 15 Fire Tenders Rushed to Spot

The state will witness a triangular contest between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, the National People’s Party and Congress. Also Read - Anti-China Protests in Arunachal Pradesh, Xi Jinping's Effigy Burnt 

Current Chief Minister Pema Khadu is leading the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in the state. However, he changed his affiliations twice after becoming the chief minister. Originally from the Congress party, Kandhu later joined the Peoples Party of Arunachal and eventually became a BJP member. In the 60-seat current assembly, the running BJP has 36 members, the National People’s Party 16 and Congress 6. There are 2 independent MLAs in the state. Chief Minister Pema Khandu will contest from Mukto assembly seat.

Facts and figures

Party wise break-up of the LS seats: BJP: 1, Cong: 1

Number of voters in the state: 759,387 (2014)

Voter turnout in 2014: 78.6%

Main contenders across parties: BJP: Kiren Rijiju, Pema Khandu, Tapir Gao, CONG: Ninong Ering, Takam Sanjoy

Key issues: 1. Citizenship Amendment Bill 2. Permanent Resident Certificates 3. Political instability; In 2016, Arunachal Pradesh went through a major political crisis and saw President’s Rule. Since 2011, the state has seen 5 chief ministers and a short period of President’s Rule.

Important Dates

Date of Issue of Gazette Notification: 18.03.2019

Last Date of Nominations: 25.03.2019

Date for Scrutiny of Nominations: 26.03.2019

Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures: 28.03.2019

Date of Poll: 11.04.2019

Date of Counting: 23.05.2019

Date before which election shall be completed: 27.05.2019

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will begin on April 11 and will be held in seven phases. The model code of conduct came into immediate effect from March 10 itself and the counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019. Assembly and by-polls will be held simultaneously.

For full coverage on Lok Sabha Elections, visit