New Delhi: Arunachal Pradesh is represented by two Lok Sabha constituencies- Arunachal West and Arunachal East.Also Read - Allahabad HC Dismisses Plea Challenging PM Modi's Election From Varanasi LS Seat

Arunachal East has traditionally been a Congress stronghold with the BJP winning it once in 2004. Also Read - Anti-Modi Tweets by Arvind Kejriwal Vanished Post Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The incumbent MP of the Arunachal East constituency is Congress’ Ninong Ering. Ninong Ering had defeated the BJP’s Tapir Gao by a wafer-thin margin of over 12,000 votes. Lowangcha Wanglat of the Congress, BJP’s Tapir Gao and Bandey Mili of JD will be contesting for Arunachal East. Also Read - 'Danger in Boycotting J&K Assembly Polls, it Could be Repeat of What Happened in Lok Sabha Elections,' Warns NC's Omar Abdullah

The constituency is spread over eight districts, Tirap, Lower Dibang Valley, Lohit, East Siang, Dibang Valley, Upper Siang, Anjaw and Changlang.

Union minister of state for home affairs Kiren Rijiju is the sitting MP from Arunachal West constituency. Rijiju has been instrumental in cutting through the Congress vote bank in the constituency when he first routed Kamen Ringu of the Congress in 2004.

The most popular leader in this constituency of Arunachal West was Prem Khandu Thungan of the Congress, who was elected as MP for four successive Lok Sabha sessions, from 1980 to 1991.

Rijiju is now seeking another term against the Grand Old Party’s Nabam Tuki and Jarjum Ete of the JD.

A total of eight districts together form this Lok Sabha seat of Arunachal West, as per the 2008 implementation of the delimitation of the parliamentary constituencies. These eight districts are- West Kameng, East Kameng, Papum Pare, Tawang, West Siang, Upper Subansiri, Lower Subansiri and Kurung Kumey.