Top Recommended Stories

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur seats in Assam

All you need to know about Assam's Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seats.

Updated: April 8, 2019 7:25 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

UP Block Pramukh Election 2021
UP Block Pramukh Election 2021 : Voting will be held on July 10 from 11 am to 3 pm and the counting will be held after that on the same day.

New Delhi: The Tezpur parliamentary constituency is one of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies of Assam. It has long been a Congress bastion since its inception, barring in 2014 when BJP’s Ram Prasad Samrah routed the Congress’ Bhupen Kumar Borah by a margin of 86,000 votes. The BJP has fielded Pallab Lochan Das whereas the Congress has fielded M.G.V.K. Bhanu for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The current sitting MP of the Tezpur constituency is Ram Prasad Sarmah of the BJP.

All you need to know about Lok Sabha elections 2019

You may like to read

Tezpur has a total of 1,210,132 electorates out of which 585978 are female and 624154 are male according to the Election Commission of India 2009 report. The constituency of Tezpur has a population of 1,00,477, according to the 2011 Census.

The Kaliabor Lok Sabha seat is a significant seat as the incumbent Chief Minister of Assam, Tarun Gogoi has represented the constituency as an MP in 1991, 1998 and 1999.

The total number of electorates in the Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency according to the Election Commission of India 2009 report are 1,348,371 of which 690,698 are males and 657,673 are females.

Kaliabor, which is located in the Nagaon district of Assam, has also traditionally been a Congress bastion, with most candidates from the Grand Old Party bagging the seat. The incumbent MP from Kaliabor is Congress’ Gourav Gogoi, who won against BJP’s Mrinal Kumar Saikia in 2014 by nearly 93,000 votes. The AGP has fielded Moni Madhab Mahanta against the sitting MP Gaurav Gogoi.

The Jorhat parliamentary constituency represents the Jorhat district. 1,182,349 is the total electorate count in the Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency, out of these 605,285 number of electorates are males and the remaining 577,064 are belong to the females. The BJP has fielded Tapan Gogoi against the Congress’ Sushanta Borgohai. Jorhat has been a stronghold of the Congress but in 2014 BJP’s Kamakhya Prasad Tasa defeated the Grand Old Party’s Bijoy Krishna Handique.

Known as the ‘Tea City of India’, the city of Dibrugarh is part of the Dibrugarh parliamentary constituency. According to the ECI 2009 data, the total electorates in the Dibrugarh Parliamentary constituency were 1,114,965 of which 540,628 are females and 574,337 are males.

According to the 2011 Census, the population in the Dibrugarh district is as high as 13,27,748 and is one of the essential urban centres in the state. In the upcoming LokSabha elections, sitting MP Rameswar Teli of the BJP will contest against the Congress’ Paban Singh Ghatowar.

The Lakhimpur parliamentary constituency has a total of 1,332,518 electorates out of which 650,816 are females and 681,702 are males. Those contesting the upcoming LokSabha elections are BJP’s Pradan Baruah, Congress’ Anil Borgohain, CPI(M)’s Amiya Kumar Handique and Dilip Moran of ADP.

BJP’s Pradan Baruah is the sitting MP in Lakhimpur constituency.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.