The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 will begin on April 11 and will be held in seven phases. The model code of conduct came into immediate effect from March 10 itself and the counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019. Assembly and by-polls will be held simultaneously.

Tamil Nadu

The bypolls in 18 of the 21 Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu will be held along the upcoming general elections on April 18, i.e. the second phase.

Notably, Tamil Nadu has a total of 235 Assembly seats.

The assembly seats that will go to polls on April 18, include Poonamallee (SC), Perambur, Thiruporur, Sholingur, Gudiyattham (SC), Ambur, Hosur, Pappireddippatti, Harur (SC), Nilakkottai (SC), Thiruvarur, Thanjavur, Manamadurai (SC), Andipatti, Periyakulam (SC), Sattur, Paramakudi (SC) and Vilathikulam.

The aforementioned seats fell vacant on September 19, 2017, after the 18 sitting MLAs were disqualified by Tamil Nadu assembly speaker for supporting rebel AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran.


The polling will be held on April 23, on three assembly seats Shiroda, Mandrem and Mapusa.

The bypolls to Shiroda and Mandrem were necessitated after the sitting Congress MLAs resigned from the Assembly and party and joined the BJP. The Mapusa seat fell vacant due to the death of sitting BJP MLA Francis D’Souza.

Meanwhile, 16 candidates are left in the ring for by-elections to three assembly constituencies – Mandrem, Shiroda and Mapusa – where voting will take place on April 23.

Besides the BJP, the Congress and other parties, the Maharashtrwadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Republic Party of India besides Independents are fighting the assembly bypolls.

Among the bypoll-bound assembly seats, seven candidates are in the fray in Mapusa, five in Shiroda and four in Mandrem.

In Mapusa, the BJP has given a ticket to DSouza’s son Joshua, whose main rival is Congress’s Sudhir Kandolkar.

In Shiroda, MGP president Deepak Dhavlikar is in the fray along with Congress’s Mahadev Naik.

In Mandrem, Congress has fielded its leader Babi Bagkar.


Gujarat assembly bypolls will be held on April 18, on five seats- Talala, Unjha, Manavadar, Dhrangadhra and Jamnagar Rural assembly seats.

Unjha seat fell vacant as the outgoing Congress MLA Ashaben Patel resigned from the party as well as the assembly. Patel joined the BJP.

Talala seat was left vacant after assembly Speaker disqualified outgoing Congress MLA Bhagabhai Barad, due to his conviction in mining case.

On March 8, Manavadar in Junagadh fell vacant after the surprise resignation of four-term Congress MLA Javahar Chavda. Chavda joined BJP the same day and was made a cabinet minister the next day.

Dhrangadhra seat in Surendranagar fell vacant after sitting MLA Parshottam Sabariya quit Congress to join BJP.

Sitting MLA Vallabh Dharaviya from Jamnagar Rural seat in Saurashtra, had resigned from Congress.

For full coverage on Lok Sabha Elections, visit