Top Recommended Stories

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Vote Counting Updates: Congress Bags Chhindwara, BJP Sweeps Bhopal, Balaghat, Hoshangabad, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh

With the counting for the seven-phase Lok Sabha election concluding, the BJP swept Madhya Pradesh's Balaghat, Hoshangabad, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh seats while the Congress won Chhindwara.

Updated: May 23, 2019 8:47 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Ashna Kumar

Electronic Voting Machines in Telangana
Electronic Voting Machines in Telangana

New Delhi: With counting of votes of all seven phases of Lok Sabha elections 2019 nearing conclusion, here’s a look at the poised winners and their win margins from Madhya Pradesh’s Balaghat, Chhindwara, Hoshangabad, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh seats.

Counting of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) and Postal Ballots has been taken up first.

You may like to read


Bhopal Lok Sabha Constituency

One of the most high octane battles from Madhya Pradesh was in Bhopal, with BJP’s Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur winning against Congress’ Digivijaya Singh by nearly 3,00,000 votes.

Bhopal has usually gone back and forth between the BJP and the Congress. The incumbent MP is BJP’s Alok Sanjar, who defeated PC Sharma by over 3,00,000 votes 2014.

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data, the total electorates in the Bhopal Parliamentary constituency were 1,461,714 of which 681,871 are females and 779,843 are males.

Chhindwara Lok Sabha Constituency

On the other hand, Chhindwara is the lone Lok Sabha seat in Madhya Pradesh as per latest trends to see a Congress candidate winner. Nakul Kamal Nath won against the BJP candidate by over 38,000 votes.

The Chhindwara Lok Sabha constituency is a Kamal Nath bastion. One of the Congress’ strongholds in Madhya Pradesh. The incumbent MP too is current MP Chief Minister Kamal Nath. In 2014, he won against the BJP’s Choudhary Chandrabhan Kuber Singh.

This time the Congress named Kamal Nath’s son Nakul Nath from Chhindwara and the BJP fielded Natthan Shah.

Balaghat Lok Sabha Constituency

BJP’s Dr Dhal Singh Bisen also won in Balaghat against Madhu Bhagat by nearly 70,000 votes.

Balaghat Lok Sabha constituency, covering the districts of Balaghat and Seoni, is one of the 29 parliamentary constituencies spread across Madhya Pradesh. As per the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the total number of voters in this constituency is 13,36,535 people.

Hoshangabad Lok Sabha Constituency

According to latest reports, Uday Pratap Singh of the BJP is nearing a clean sweep in Hoshangabad with a lead of more than 3,00,000 votes.

Hoshangabad Lok Sabha rests with the BJP with Uday Pratap Singh being the sitting MP. Uday Pratap Singh is also seeking re-election against Shailendra Diwan of the Congress.

The total number of electorates in the Hoshangabad Lok Sabha constituency according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,297,404 of which 700,537 are males and 596,867 are females.

Vidisha Lok Sabha Constituency

Meanwhile, Shailendra Patel of the Congress lost by more than 2,00,000 votes to BJP candidate Ramakant Bhargava in Vidisha.

A BJP bastion, Vidisha Lok Sabha constituency has sent former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh to Union minister Sushma Swaraj to the parliament among many others.

Swaraj won against the Congress’ Lakshman Singh comfortably by over 3,00,000 votes. She is not seeking re-election though as the BJP named Ramakant Bhargav whereas the Congress has fielded Shailendra Patel from Vidisha.

Rajgarh Lok Sabha Constituency

With more than 2,00,000 votes in his kitty already, BJP’s Rodmal Nagar is on his way to scripting victory in Rajgarh against Congress’ Mona Sustani.

Rajgarh is another one of the dual fighting seats that has mostly seen a fight between the Congress and the BJP.  Rodmal Nagar from BJP routed Congress’ Narayan Singh in 2014. Narayan Singh was the MP from Rajgarh in 2009. In 2014 though he lost by more than 1,50,000 votes.

The sitting MP Nagar is seeking re-election this time.

Also Read:

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.