A total of 62.52 per cent of 86.01 lakh voters exercised their franchise in five Lok Sabha seats in Bihar in the second phase on Thursday, amid incidents of police firing and poll boycotts. Katihar Lok Sabha constituency witnessed the highest voter turnout of 68.20 per cent, followed by Purnea (64.50 pc), Kishanganj (64.10 pc), Bhagalpur (58.2 pc) and Banka (58.0 pc), Chief Electoral Officer Bihar HR Srinivasa said.Also Read - Bihar: Over 33 Dead In 16 Districts Due To Gale Storms, Lightning; Nitish Kumar Announces Financial Aid

The poll percentage of the five constituencies may increase once the final figures reach the state election office in Patna. Also Read - Padhega Sonu, Badhega Sonu: Sushil Modi Offers Navodaya Seat To Bihar Boy | Watch Video

Polling passed off “peacefully” with one exception of police firing at a village in Shambhuganj area under Banka Lok Sabha constituency in order to control a mob that wanted to carry out bogus voting, he said. Also Read - JDU MLA's Dancing Video Causes Stir, Nitish Kumar's Party Asks Leader To 'Behave'

When the attempt was foiled by the paramilitary forces, the mob started brick batting them using women as a shield, forcing the security personnel to fire four rounds in the air, the CEO said.

Six persons were arrested during the polling but Srinivasa did not explain whether all of them were involved in the incident at Banka.

Re-poll has been ordered in a single polling station in Jamui assembly segment of Banka Lok Sabha constituency after some anti-social elements damaged the ballot unit of the EVM, the CEO said.

Re-poll will be conducted on April 20.

People of Naugachhia in Bhagalpur Lok Sabha seat and Banka in Banka Lok Sabha constituency boycotted the election for lack of road and water facilities in their areas, he said.

There were some minor incidents of EVM malfunctioning, the CEO said.

Fates of 68 candidates will be decided in the second phase of polling.