Patna: The leaders of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Sunday are expected to announce seat-sharing details between the Janata Dal (United), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) in Bihar for upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

The announcement on what seat will be contested by candidates of which party is likely to be made in a press conference at the JD(U) office in Patna in the evening.

The seat-sharing arrangement between the BJP, JD(U) and LJP for Lok Sabha polls was finalised in December last year. BJP president Amit Shah had announced that his party and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) will contest 17 seats each, while Ram Vilas Paswan-led LJP will fight on the remaining six. The state has 40 Lok Sabha constituencies.

In 2014, the JD(U) had contested the polls independently, while the LJP and BJP had won two and six seats respectively. Meanwhile in 2009, the NDA had won 32 of the 40 seats in the state.

Meanwhile, Bihar’s ruling NDA on Thursday taunted the Grand Alliance for failing to reach an accord on seat-sharing. Speaking to the media, senior BJP leader and Union Ashwani Choubey asked, “They have failed to finalise seat sharing, how can they be a challenge to the NDA?”

If reports are to be believed, the Grand Alliance-led by Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) is likely to announce seat sharing on March 17. The RJD is likely to contest on 20 seats and Congress on 11 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar.

Earlier, RJD leader Alok Mehta said the seat sharing details have been worked out and a formal announcement will be made in the next two to three days. In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the RJD won only four seats and the Congress two.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are scheduled to begin on April 11. The polls will be conducted in seven phases with final phase voting on May 19. Bihar will vote on April 11, 18, 23, 29 and May 6, 12 and 19. The counting of votes will be conducted on May 23.