New Delhi: Leaders from the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi on May 30, Thursday. The BIMSTEC member states are – Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal, and Bhutan. “Government of India has invited the leaders of the BIMSTEC Member States for the Swearing-in ceremony on May 30. This is in line with Government’s focus on its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy,” a statement issued by MEA said.

It added, “The President of the Kyrgyz Republic, who is the current Chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, and the Prime Minister of Mauritius, who was the Chief Guest at this year’s Pravasi Bhartiya Divas, have also been invited.”

In 2014, all SAARC leaders including the then Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif were invited for the swearing-in ceremony of PM Modi. But this time, there is no indication of Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan being invited as India’s relations with Islamabad soured and hit its nadir after the Pulwama attack in February.

Therefore, the list of international guests includes Myanmar Prime Minister Aung San Suu Kyi, Sri Lankan PM Ranil Wickremesinghe, Thailand PM Prayut Chan-o-cha, Nepalese PM KP Sharma Oli and Bhutan PM Lotay Tshering.

It has been reported that Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina won’t attend the event due to her scheduled trip to East Asia from May 28. Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Huq is expected to attend the ceremony on behalf of Hasina.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Modi and other members of the Union council of ministers on Thursday at 7 PM at Rashtrapati Bhavan, an official communique on Sunday said. The President also appointed Modi to the office of Prime Minister of India. (Narendra Modi Swearing-in Ceremony 2019: List of Leaders, Celebrities Expected to Attend High-profile Event on May 30)

On Saturday, Modi along with NDA leaders met Kovind and staked claim for the formation of government. Kovind had asked Modi to decide his council of ministers and the date of his swearing-in ceremony.

Earlier, Modi was elected as leader of the BJP parliamentary party and the NDA parliamentary party at a function at Central Hall of Parliament which was attended by senior NDA leaders, Chief Ministers of NDA-ruled states, 353 newly-elected NDA MPs and senior BJP functionaries including party chief Amit Shah and veterans L. K. Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

On May 23, Modi won a second consecutive five-year term as Prime Minister with the National Democratic Alliance (NDA)  returning to power with a massive majority in the Lok Sabha elections. Of total 542 seats that went to polls in seven phase, the BJP alone bagged 303.