New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced the names of six candidates for by-elections to the state legislature of West Bengal. Also Read - West Bengal Assembly Election 2021: Suvendu to Get Ticket From Nandigram? BJP to Finalise List of 60 Names Today

BJP Central Election Committee General Secretary JP Nadda announced that the party nominee for Bhatpara assembly seat will be Pawan Kumar Singh. Other candidates in fray are Neeraj Tamang Zimba from Darjeeling, Dr Samayroop Mandal from Islampur, Jual Murmu from Habibpur, Sanat Mandal from Kandi and Anupam Mandal from Nowda. Also Read - AAP Sweeps Delhi MCD Bypolls, Arvind Kejriwal Says People Now Want Good Work In Municipality Too

The crucial assembly seat Bhatpara in Trinamool Congress-ruled West Bengal fell vacant after the sitting MLA Arjun Singh defected to the saffron party and resigned his seat. Also Read - Karnataka Sex Tape Scandal: As Ramesh Jarkiholi Resigns, Here's a List of Past Political Controversies

Arjun Singh is now BJP nominee from Barrackpore parliamentary seat and is pitted against former Railway Minister and senior Trinamool Congress leader Dinesh Trivedi.

(With PTI inputs)