BJP Complains to EC About Poll-related Violence in West Bengal

The BJP delegation would comprise Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Vijay Goel and Anil Baluni. Clashes have been reported from polling booths in Asansol.

Updated: April 29, 2019 1:30 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Smriti Sinha

BJP Complains to EC About Poll-related Violence in West Bengal
केंद्रीय मंत्री मुख़्तार अब्बास नक़वी

New Delhi: The BJP on Tuesday approached the Election Commission to complain about poll-related violence during Lok Sabha phase 4 voting in West Bengal. (Catch LIVE Updates of Phase 4 Voting Here)

Also Read:

ANI reported that the BJP delegation comprised Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Vijay Goel and Anil Baluni.

Afterwards, addressing media, Naqvi said, “We raised displeasure over remarks made by Congress President Rahul Gandhi against PM Modi and party president Amit Shah. His statements are baseless and derogatory and in violation of electoral laws. We also raised the issue of poll violence in West Bengal. We have asked for deputation of Central forces at all polling booths so that free and fair elections can be held in the state.”

A clash had erupted between TMC workers and QRF and security personnel outside polling booth number 125-129 in Asansol, after disagreement between BJP and CPI(M) workers after TMC workers insisted on polling though Central forces were not present.

Another clash was reported between TMC workers and security personnel at polling booth number 199 in Asansol. A TMC polling agent said, “No BJP polling agent was present at the booth.” BJP MP candidate from Asansol, Babul Supriyo’s car was also vandalised outside the polling station.

Supriyo said, “I will myself take the Central forces to that polling station. It is very good that people in West Bengal are aware and they want Central forces so that they can cast their vote. This is why Mamata Banerjee is scared.”

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: April 29, 2019 10:50 AM IST

Updated Date: April 29, 2019 1:30 PM IST