New Delhi: Counting of votes began at 8 AM and early trends showed the BJP+ in lead on 54 seats while the Congress+ was ahead on 10 and so were Others. Also Read - PM Kisan Samman Nidhi Scheme Reaches 7.03 Lakh Farmers In Bengal, Mamata Accuses Centre Of Dilly-Dallying Funds

Among the key candidates, PM Modi has established an early lead in Varanasi, said reports. Similarly, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, who is contesting from Azamgarh, has taken the lead. Also Read - Another Dip! UP Records 15,747 Fresh COVID Cases, 312 Deaths in Last 24 Hours

(Catch Complete Coverage of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Here) Also Read - Times Group Chairperson Indu Jain Dies, PM Modi Expresses Grief

Congress President Rahul Gandhi is leading from Kerala’s Wayanad. BJP’s Gen V K Singh is leading from Ghaziabad. Kanimozhi is leading in Thoothukudi, BJP’s Kummanam in Thiruvananthapuram and Hibe Eden in Ernakulam.

Apna Dal (S)’s Anupriya Patel has also taken an early lead in Mirzapur.

Some reports said BJP’s Sadhvi Pragya Thakur is ahead of her Congress rival Digvijaya Singh in Bhopal.

According to ABP news, early trends on 118 seats showed the  BJP+ leading on 76 seats while Congress + was ahead on 33 and Others on 9.

Reports said the BJP has asked all its candidates to reach Delhi after winning and getting certificate. They have been asked to reach the national capital by May 25.