New Delhi: Amidst the ensuing Lok Sabha elections 2019, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday fielded Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in Malegaon case, from Bhopal seat, pitting her directly against Congress heavyweight and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Digvijaya Singh who is also contesting from the same seat. Also Read - West Bengal: Suvendu Adhikari Resigns as State Transport Minister, Cracks Widen In Trinamool Congress

Reacting on her candidature, Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur told ANI, “Hum tayar hain, ab ussi karya mein lag gayi hun. I am ready, I am working on it now).” Also Read - Amarinder Singh Condemns Haryana Govt's Attempts To Prevent Farmers March To Delhi

Thakur, who is out on bail, had joined the BJP only hours before her name was announced as its candidate, underscoring the saffron party’s attempt to bring the Hindutva plank at the centre stage of polls in the high profile constituency, which has been its bastion for many elections. Also Read - Congress Leader Ahmed Patel Laid to Rest in Gujarat’s Bharuch, Rahul Gandhi Attends Funeral

An NIA court had dropped charges against her under the stringent MCOCA but she and other co-accused are still facing other charges in the Malegaon case.

Before announcing her induction in the party, Pragya had met senior BJP leaders Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Ramlal, and Prabhat Jha at party’s office in Bhopal. Talking to media, she said the election in Bhopal will be fought on the issue of nationalism and called it the beginning of ‘Dharam Yudh’.

Sadhvi Pragya Singh’s name was announced in a list of four candidates announced on Wednesday.

Among other candidates, K P Yadav will be the BJP nominee from Guna, which is held by senior Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia who is contesting again from here.

The BJP has named Raj Bahadur Singh and Ramakant Bhargav as its nominees from Sagar and Vidisha respectively.

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj had won from Vidisha in 2014 but she had announced that she will not fight polls this time due to health reasons.

The polling for Bhopal will take place on May 12. The results will come out on May 23.