New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely to release first list of candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, scheduled to begin from April 11, on Saturday. Reportedly, the names of the candidates will be announced after party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) meet that is expected to be held at the party headquarters in national capital at 4 PM on March 16. Chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the meeting will be attended by party national president Amit Shah among other senior leaders. (ALSO READ – Congress Releases Third List of 18 Candidates, Five in Assam, Eight in Telangana)Also Read - Uddhav Thackeray To Prove Majority Tomorrow As Supreme Court Clears Desk For Floor Test

If reports are to be believed, the list will consist of names of 100 candidates, including 18 from Maharashtra. The speculation gets more base with the claim made by a party leader who had informed a news agency that the party is mulling to announce around 18 candidates from Maharashtra in the first list. He added,”The party will contest 25 seats this time, one less than the last general election.” Notably, the ruling party had finalised a list of 10 candidates for the forthcoming general elections, a few days before. Also Read - Maharashtra Govt Renames Aurangabad As Fate of Uddhav Thackeray Hangs in Balance

Earlier on Friday, the BJP and the Apna Dal announced a tie-up in Uttar Pradesh for Lok Sabha Elections. With the resolve of the Modi government once again (Phir Ek Baar Modi Sarkar), the BJP and the Apna Dal will fight the Lok Sabha elections in UP together,” BJP chief Amit Shah posted on Twitter. Also Read - Udaipur Murder Accused Mohammed Ghaus Has Links With Pakistan Based Handlers: Investigative Agencies

Meanwhile, in a Parliamentary Board meeting of the party on March 8, it was decided that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha polls from Varanasi. In 2014, he had won from Varanasi with 5,81,022 votes. The constituency holds greater importance in the wake of polls, as the Prime Minister along with the allies of the party had managed to win all eight assembly constituencies in the city during the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 are set to begin in seven phases from April 11. The same will conclude on May 19. The counting of votes will be done on May 23 and the results will be announced later in the day.