New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is expected to release its first list of 100 candidates for the forthcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Saturday. If reports are to be believed, the central leadership of the BJP will announce the names of candidates after the party’s Election Committee meet, scheduled at 4 PM on March 16. The meeting is likely to be chaired by PM Narendra Modi at party headquarters in national capital. It will be attended by top party leaders including party president Amit Shah.

According to the reports, the BJP is likely to announce its first list of Maharashtra candidates for the polls. Speaking to a news agency, a party leader had said that around 18 candidates will be announced in the first list. He added,”The party will contest 25 seats this time, one less than the last general election.” (Also read: PM Modi Urges Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee And Others to Strengthen Voter Awareness, Has ‘Four Requests For Democracy’)

Earlier, the party had given a clear indication that it would spare only a couple of seats for its allies in Maharashtra, although there are four key partners Republican Party of India (A), Rashtriya Samaj Paksh (RSP), Rayat Kranti Sanghatna and Shivsangram Sanghatna.

A couple of days ago, the ruling party had finalised a list of 10 candidates for upcoming general elections. The party’s state election committee said that the list has a mix of both old and new faces.

In Bihar, BJP’s Election Committee has authorised state unit president Nityanand Rai, Prem Kumar, and Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi to decide candidates and their seats for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections in the state, where 40 seats are at stake. BJP ally-JDU-is contesting 17 seats, while Union Minister Ram Vilas Pawan led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will contest six seats.

Yesterday, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had released its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The list had name of party chief Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriye Sule, who will contest general elections from Baramati. Apart from Sule, the list also includes Sanjay Dina Patil who has been fielded from Mumbai North East, Anand Paranjpe from Thane, Sunil Tatkare from Raigad. Mohammad Faisal has been named as a NCP candidate from Lakshwadeep. Besides, the NCP list also has one seat for the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana, which has fielded a candidate from Hatkanangale.

On Wednesday, the Congress party had released its second list of candidates for the Lok Sabha election 2019. The party announced names of 16 candidates from Uttar Pradesh and five from Maharashtra. In the first list, it had announced 18 candidates, including 11 from UP.