Lok Sabha Elections 2019Chandigarh parliamentary seat will go to polls in phase 7 of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on May 19. As per the Election Commission of India (ECI) 2009 data, the seat constitutes of a total of 524,444 electorates – 232,778 females and 291,666 males. It will witness a tough contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Also Read - After Success In Surat Bypoll, AAP To Take On BJP In 2022 Gujarat Assembly Polls

The current sitting member of parliament of constituency number 1, Chandigarh, is BJP’s Kirron Anupam Kher. She had won the 2014 general elections against Congress’s Bharatbhai Madhavsinh Solanki by over 7,000 votes. For Lok Sabha Elections 2019, the Congress has announced Pawan Kumar Bansal as the party’s candidate. Also Read - Delhi Budget: Free Covid Vaccines, Mahila Mohalla Clinics, Olympics Bid in Kejriwal's 'Deshbhakti Budget' | Highlights

The Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat holds significance because it has been won by the Congress for a majority of the terms. Chandigarh parliamentary constituency witnessed first general election in 1967 after its formation in 1962. It was won by the Pawan Kumar Bansal of the Congress in 1999, 2004 and 2009. Also Read - Sourav Ganguly to Join Politics in Future? BCCI President Answers

Chandigarh parliamentary seat will go to polls on May 19, in the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The voting for the first and second phase of general elections was held on April 11 and 18. In the phase 1, a total of 91 seats went to polls, while 95 seats witness polling in phase 2. The counting of votes for all the phases, across the country, will be conducted on May 23. The results will be announced on the same day.