Dehradun:  A day ahead of filing nominations, the Congress party on Sunday announced candidates for all the five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand. Also Read - Shocking! Uttarakhand Hospital Hides 65 Covid Deaths For Over 2 Weeks

The list includes the name of Congress general secretary Harish Rawat, former MLA Ambrish Kumar,  former Chief Minister BC Khanduri’s son Manish Khanduri, state Congress president Pritam Singh and Rajya Sabha member Pradeep Tamta. Also Read - Coronavirus a Living Organism, Has Right to Live: Ex-Uttarakhand CM Trolled on Twitter For His Bizarre Remark

Rawat will contest from Nainital,  Ambrish Kumar from Haridwar, Khanduri’s son from Pauri, Pritam Singh from Tehri and  Pradeep Tamta from Almora. Also Read - Uttarakhand Announces Summer Vacations In All Govt, Non-Govt Schools Till June 30

“The Congress’ central election committee cleared names of all the candidates,” IANS quoted Suryakant Dhasmana, the state party vice president as saying.

Earlier on Thursday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)  had announced the list of five candidates for Uttarakhand. The ruling party named sitting MPs Mala Rajya Lakshmi Shah, Ramesh Pokhrial Nishank and Ajay Tamta in Tehri Garhwal, Haridwar and Almora respectively.

The party had also fielded two senior party leaders, former state president Tirath Singh Rawat and existing state president Ajay Bhatt for Pauri Garhwal and Nainital seats respectively.

During 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, the BJP had registered thumping victory from all five Lok Sabha constituencies of the state.

Uttarakhand will go for a single day polling on April 11, 2019. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.